Blogs
English
Print
Share
< Back to search

Micr’Home

eventsexhibitionsustainable citiesMyrtille Drouet

Micr’Home - Myrtille Drouet

Maximising the potential urban living space by utilising the gaps in the city

Nantes is an extremely appealing city. Many people want to move there, yet very little new accommodation is built. The need for a sustainable city now requires an optimum combination of urban functions (housing, employment, facilities and services).

Maximising potential living space and building the city on itself is seen as a planning constraint (strict habitable minimum), but it is also seen as a design process (infiltrating gaps in the constructed framework). The complex concept of residential density should be based on the existing environment.

Micr’Home aims to create a three-floor apartment in the gaps between buildings in the Quai de la Fosse in Nantes, covering the primary functions of the home, and meeting the physiological needs of everyone. Micr’Home is elevated to enable residents of the adjoining buildings to pass underneath. The main challenge of the project, which involved three 1.96 metre-wide levels, was to manage vertical flows while ensuring that there was adequate lighting in the accommodation. By choosing to inhabit the gaps in the city, the designer is returning to the essential uses in order to sensitively maximise the potential living space in our city centres.

This project is exhibited at Hangar 32 at “Design l’Expo”, from 28th November 2014 to 25th January 2015.

Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Micr’Home

#événements #exposition #ville durable

// Myrtille Drouet

Micr’Home - Myrtille Drouet

Densifier l’habitat urbain en investissant les failles de la ville

Nantes est une agglomération qui exerce un fort attrait. De nombreuses personnes souhaitent s’y installer, pourtant la construction de logements reste très faible. La nécessité d’une ville durable oblige aujourd’hui à combiner au mieux les fonctions urbaines (habitat, emploi, équipements et services).

Densifier, construire la ville sur elle-même est perçu comme une contrainte programmatique (strict minimum habitable) mais également comme un processus de conception (s’implanter dans les failles du cadre bâti). La notion complexe de densité résidentielle doit s’appuyer sur le territoire existant.

Micr’Home propose de créer un triplex regroupant les fonctions primaires de l’habitat, correspondant aux besoins physiologiques de chacun, dans les interstices nantais du Quai de la Fosse. Micr’Home est surélevé afin de garantir le passage aux habitants des immeubles mitoyens. Le projet est développé sur trois niveaux et 1,96 mètres de large avec pour principal défi de gérer les circulations verticales tout en garantissant une luminosité suffisante dans le logement. En choisissant d’habiter les failles de la ville, le designer revient donc aux usages essentiels pour densifier raisonnablement le centre de nos villes.

Ce projet est exposé au Hangar 32, à l’occasion de Design L’Expo, du 28 novembre 2014 au 25 janvier 2015.

À lire également