English
Print
Share

The Studio Montréal

L’École de design Nantes Atlantique’s permanent branch in North America

The Studio Montréal is L’École de design’s international studio in North America. In September 2018, a Design and Entrepreneurship MDes program opened in partnership with Centech, startup accelerator of ÉTS.

Exploring Montréal by bike during Fresher’s week

Design & Entrepreneurship MDes Montreal: A two-year program in French to learn all about entrepreneurship

In partnership with Centech, the tech accelerator of l’École de Technologie Supérieure (ÉTS) - the top public engineering school in Montreal – this program aims to immerse design students in startups launched by the first French-speaking incubator in North America, and to develop their skills in an international context.

This Master’s program is open to students from all backgrounds (interaction design, product design, interior design, graphic design, etc.) who have completed their undergraduate studies at L’École de design. Due to regulations governing immigration, only students of nationalities benefitting from the EIC program (International Experience Canada) are eligible to join the Montreal Studio

Students at work for the Drakkar corporation (photo credits: Chloé Verron)

Montreal – millenials’ first choice of city on the American continent

Montreal is a very appealing city and was ranked 2nd dream city in the world in 2018 for millennials. It is thanks to its tolerant attitude to immigration, its openness to diversity, its many festivals, its affordable housing and its dynamic ecosystem of startups that the city has been propelled to 2nd place worldwide just behind Berlin.

Quebec is a very attractive option for the French-speaking community: the number of French people living in the province has almost doubled since 2005 and is constantly on the increase. It’s the excellent quality of life and the simplicity of setting up a company which make this region so appealing, particularly Montreal, which is home to 70% of the French-Canadian community.

Photo credits: Chloé Verron

An international program focused on innovation and entrepreneurship

In September 2018 the Studio Montréal welcomed its first batch of 20 students for one academic year. The program has been updated for September 2019 and will take 20 new students for an 18-month Design and Entrepreneurship MDes.

Located on a campus combining technology and entrepreneurship, the program is designed to immerse students in the field of technological entrepreneurship so that they understand its inner workings and peculiarities. With a strong professional emphasis, this French language MDes is a cross between a work-study program and academic training.

A professionalizing program

Year 1
The first year takes place entirely in the Studio Montréal. Thanks to a program alternating work experience and lessons, the student designers will be immersed in startups based in the world’s 8th best incubator: the Centech. The premises of this tech incubator house the innovation units of Canadian and international firms with whom students have the opportunity to collaborate.

Year 2
The first six months of the second year of MDes are organized in the same way as the first year, alternating periods of work experience and classes. With this internationally oriented professional experience in hand, students will then have the chance to carry out their end of studies internship in Canada or anywhere else in the world.

Julie Le Ster has been responsible for coordinating the Studio’s pedagogy in Montreal since June 2018

Julie Le Ster
Master’s Programs Coordinator - Studio Montréal

j.lester@lecolededesign.com

(+1) 514 582 5782
1000 rue St Jacques
Montréal QC H3C 1G7

Français
Imprimer
Partager

Le Studio Montréal

L’antenne permanente de L’École de design Nantes Atlantique en Amérique du Nord

Le Studio Montréal est le studio international de L’École de design Nantes Atlantique en Amérique du Nord, en partenariat avec le Centech, incubateur de l’ÉTS. Il accueille depuis septembre 2018 le programme MDes Design & entrepreneuriat.

Découverte de Montréal à vélo lors de la semaine d’intégration

MDes Design & Entrepreneuriat Montréal : Un programme, en français, de deux ans à la découverte de l’entrepreneuriat.

En partenariat avec le Centech, l’accélérateur de l’École de Technologie Supérieure (ÉTS) - première école d’ingénieurs publique de Montréal - ce programme a pour objectif d’immerger, pendant une année et demi, des étudiants designers intégrés au sein des startups du premier incubateur francophone d’Amérique du Nord, et de les faire évoluer dans un contexte international.

Ce programme de cycle master est ouvert aux étudiants de tous profils (interaction design, design produit, architecture intérieure, design graphique… ) ayant validé leur cycle BDes à L’École de design. Pour des raisons de réglementation sur l’immigration, seuls les étudiants de nationalités bénéficiant du programme EIC (Expérience Internationale Canada) sont admissibles au Studio Montréal.

Les étudiants au travail pour la corporation Drakkar (crédit photo : Chloé Verron)

Montréal, 1ère ville du continent américain pour les milléniaux

Montréal est une ville très attractive, elle a été classée 2ème ville de rêve au monde en 2018 pour les milléniaux. C’est grâce à sa tolérance à l’immigration, son ouverture à la diversité, ses nombreux festivals, ses logements abordables et son écosystème dynamique de startups que la ville s’est propulsée au 2e rang mondial après Berlin.

Le Québec est très attractif pour la communauté francophone, le nombre de français installés dans le province a presque doublé depuis 2005 et ne cesse de croitre. C’est sa qualité de vie et la facilité d’y créer une entreprise qui rend ce territoire attrayant, notamment Montréal, où vit 70% de la communauté française canadienne.

Crédit photo : Chloé Verron

Un programme international centré sur l’innovation et l’entrepreneuriat

Le Studio Montréal a accueilli à la rentrée 2018, les 20 étudiants de la première promo pour une année scolaire. Le programme évolue à partir de la rentrée 2019 et accueillera 20 nouveaux étudiants pour un MDes Design et Entrepreneuriat de 18 mois.

Situé sur un campus mêlant technologie et entrepreneuriat, le programme a pour but d’immerger les étudiants dans le milieu de l’entrepreneuriat technologique afin d’en comprendre le fonctionnement et les particularités. Volontairement professionnalisant, ce MDes en langue française est à mi-chemin entre alternance et formation en voie scolaire.

Un programme professionnalisant

Année 1
La première année se déroule entièrement au sein du Studio Montréal. Grâce à un programme alternant travail en entreprise et cours, les étudiants designers seront immergés au sein des startups du 8ème meilleur incubateur au monde : Le Centech. Ce dernier a également la chance d’accueillir dans ses locaux les cellules d’innovation de corporations canadiennes et internationales avec lesquelles les étudiants pourront collaborer.

Année 2
Les six premiers mois de la 2ème année de MDes se déroulent de la même façon que la première année, alternant périodes en entreprises et cours. Forts de cette expérience internationale professionnalisante, Les étudiants auront ensuite la possibilité de réaliser leur stage de fin d’études au Canada ou n’importe où dans le monde.

Julie Le Ster assure la coordination pédagogique du Studio sur place à Montréal depuis juin 2018.

Julie Le Ster
Coordinatrice pédagogique Studio Montréal

j.lester@lecolededesign.com

(+1) 514 582 5782
1000 rue St Jacques
Montréal QC H3C 1G7