English
Print
Share
Back to search

Witness

#events #exhibition #fairs

// Jérôme Chabot - Jules Leduc - Elliot Mouchère - Thomas Réaubourg

Witness

Recovery requires remembrance and mourning. Indeed, it is impossible to move on if people have not accepted, if they have not grieved. There are as many ways to grieve as there are people in the world. Witness is a factual solution to people who need to remember after a catastrophe.

Distributed by humanitarian organizations, Witness offers the possibility for survivors to remember the difficulties encountered by writing notes about their feelings and thoughts then inserted into capsules. People also have the possibility to fill in the capsule with fragments from their past life as souvenirs. On top of pen and paper, a mangrove shoot is also available to be taken and planted, offering to survivors the idea of reconstruction.

The different filled in capsules are then slotted on poles. The quantity of capsules and poles constitute then a memorial area that people can visit or go for a walk years after the catastrophe. As such, it becames a sort of memorial to what happened.

This project is part of the exhibition "Survival" from L’École de design Nantes Atlantique - Salone Internazionale del Mobile à Milan from April 7 to 13, 2014 - Salone Satellite stand B-37.

Related articles

Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Witness

#événements #exposition #produit

// Jérôme Chabot - Jules Leduc - Elliot Mouchère - Thomas Réaubourg

Witness

Pour guérir, il faut se souvenir et faire son deuil. Il est effectivement impossible d’aller de l’avant si les personnes n’ont pas accepté de faire leur deuil d’une vie passée. S’il y a autant de façons de faire son deuil qu’il y a de personnes dans le monde, Witness représente une solution factuelle pour les individus qui ont vécu une catastrophe.

Distribuée par les organisations humanitaires, Witness propose aux survivants de se souvenir des difficultées rencontrées en écrivant des notes sur leurs réflexions et pensées qu’ils peuvent insérer dans la capsule. Ils ont également la possibilité d’y mettre des souvenirs de leur vie passée. En plus d’un stylo et d’un carnet, la capsule contient une pousse de mangrove qui peut être extraite pour être replantée, suggérant ainsi aux survivants l’idée de reconstruction.

Les différentes capsules sont ensuite placées sur des mats, qui placés en nombre forment un lieu de mémoire. Même des années plus tard, le public peut le visiter ou venir s’y promener : Witness est un mémorial de la catastrophe passée.

Witness est l’un des 6 projets de l’exposition "Survival" de L’École de design Nantes Atlantique - Salone Internazionale del Mobile à Milan du 7 au 13 avril 2014 - Salone Satellite stand B-37.

À lire également