English
Print
Share
Back to search

Welfare

#exhibition #mutations of the built environment #postgraduate studies

// Marion Lucas

Welfare

Handicapped children need specific products, often costly to buy, which sometimes stigmatize them in the eyes of others. How can designers position themselves with a design for all approach and help these children be better integrated socially?

The aim of the project is to produce everyday products which meet the needs of autistic children, but which can be used by everyone. The preference was for simple materials and technology, inspired by the manufacturing of traditional sofas. Throughout the project, medical and welfare professionals as well as children and parents were called on to give their opinions or redirect the project.

On the face of it, Welfare is a "sofa", designed with maximum adaptability in mind. The different modules can be used independently and are fun to use. They can be placed on the floor or on the sofa, and meet the specific needs of autistic children yet can also be used for many other purposes.

Welfare is one of the 18 projects exhibited at Design(s), l’expo 2013.

Related articles

DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal
Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Welfare

#cycle master #exposition #mutations du cadre bâti

// Marion Lucas

Welfare

Les enfants handicapés ont besoin de produits spécifiques, souvent chers à l’achat, qui les stigmatisent parfois dans le regard des autres. Comment le designer peut-il se positionner dans une logique de design for all et aider à une meilleure intégration sociale ?

L’objectif du projet est de réaliser des produits du quotidien, répondant aux besoins des enfants autistes, mais utilisables par tous. Le choix a porté sur des matériaux et une technologie simples, inspirés de la fabrication des canapés traditionnels. Tout au long du projet, des professionnels du secteur médico-social ainsi qu’enfants et parents ont été sollicités pour donner des avis ou réorienter le projet.

Welfare est en apparence un "canapé", conçu sur le principe de l’adaptabilité. Les différents modules s’utilisent de manière indépendante et ludique. Ils peuvent être posés sur le sol ou sur le canapé, et répondre aux besoins spécifiques des enfants autistes tout en donnant lieu à des détournements d’usage.

Welfare est l’un des 18 projets exposés lors de Design(s) l’expo 2013.

À lire également