English
road_vous_etes_ici
Home
/
Student projects
/
Wake
Print
Share
Back to search

Wake

#international #china #events

// Baptiste Feuillâtre

Discover the video of the "Wake" project

Wake is a card-based board game designed to stimulate the memories and bodies of elderly people suffering from Alzheimers. A game that lasts for up to one hour, Wake takes into account the technical limitations – simplified illustrations, limited dexterity, poor eyesight – and involves the patient’s family in the stimulation process. The facilitator can easily adapt the game to patients depending on their country of origin, create their own rules, adapt the cards or even create new cards.

“Each culture regards the relationship to the elderly with its own history and means but when you throw Alzheimers into the mix, the relationship with the patient becomes even more complex. The family unit in China is very strong and omnipresent, but increased life expectancy, the associated cost, urbanisation and its consequences are challenging these foundations. In both France and China, with patience and meticulousness, Baptiste managed to visit the homes of elderly people suffering from this illness […]. The result is a project which provides not only valid proposals for training the memory but also a valuable shared moment of conversation between the patient and their family.  A highly acute and relevant project which has far exceeded the school environment where it all began, Wake well and truly deserves a place on the market.”


Mathieu Bernard, Course leader - Transcultural Design China Studio

Designer(s)

Baptiste Feuillâtre


After completing a Bachelor’s degree in Graphic Design, Baptiste decided to pursue the Master’s degree in Transcultural Design in Shanghai in China. He carried out his final internship as a junior graphic artist in Centdegrés agency in Saõ Paolo Brazil and would like to join the same agency in Paris or Hong Kong as a junior graphic designer. For Baptiste, “simplicity is often the solution”:simple graphic elements to develop a strong visual identity which is timeless and can be understood by anyone. His influences are the graphic designers Paul Rand and Genis Carreras.

Related articles

DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal
Français
Vous êtes ici
Accueil
/
Projets
/
Wake
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Wake

#chine #cycle master #design & interculturalité

// Baptiste Feuillâtre

Découvrez la vidéo de "Wake"

Wake est un jeu de société sous forme de cartes pour stimuler la mémoire et le corps de personnes âgées atteintes de la maladie d’Alzheimer. Jeu d’une heure maximum, Wake intègre les contraintes techniques – illustrations simplifiées, difficultés de dextérité, problèmes de vision – et l’entourage du patient dans un processus de stimulation. L’animateur peut adapter facilement le jeu aux patients selon leur culture d’origine, créer ses propres règles, adapter les cartes voire créer de nouvelles cartes.

« Chaque culture traite le rapport aux personnes âgées avec son histoire et ses moyens mais lorsque la maladie d’Alzheimer vient ajouter son grain de sable, le rapport au patient se complexifie. La Chine possède une structure familiale forte, prégnante mais l’allongement de la durée de vie, son coût, l’urbanisation et ses conséquences questionnent ces fondements. Entre France et Chine, avec patience et minutie, Baptiste est parvenu à rentrer dans l’intimité des lieux de vie des personnes âgées atteintes de cette maladie […]. Il en ressort un projet qui apporte non seulement des propositions validées pour entretenir la mémoire mais aussi un moment de partage et d’échange entre le malade et son entourage. Projet d’une grande justesse et d’une grande pertinence, Wake se devrait d’être sur le marché tant il a dépassé le cadre scolaire où il a vu le jour. »


Mathieu Bernard, responsable pédagogique Design & interculturalité – China Studio

Designer(s)

Baptiste Feuillâtre


Après un cycle bachelor en Design graphique, Baptiste a suivi le programme de cycle master Design & interculturalité à Shanghai en Chine. Il a réalisé son stage de fin d’études en tant que graphiste junior à l’agence Centdegrés à Saõ Paolo au Brésil et souhaite intégrer la même agence à Paris ou à Hong Kong en tant que designer graphique junior. Pour Baptiste, « la simplicité est souvent la bonne réponse » : des éléments graphiques simples pour développer une identité visuelle qui soit forte et qui traverse les époques en étant lisible de tous. Il s’influence ainsi des designers graphiques Paul Rand et Genis Carreras.

À lire également