English
Print
Share
Back to search

VR Geopolitics

#digital culture #exhibition #postgraduate studies

// Quentin Le Pape

Virtual reality application

International events and global issues

The project in video

VR Geopolitics is a virtual reality application which presents international events and global issues in a more accessible and memorable way. VR Geopolitics combines journalism, geopolitics and cartography to utilize sensory perception in information processing. The user has a new experience in understanding the complexity of the world and takes ownership of current issues thanks to a globe which is used to display the information along with concise articles written by journalists.

“Quentin, who is doing a double degree at L’École de design and Arts et Métiers ParisTech (Laval), uses virtual reality to document, learn and understand the world. “Le Dessous des Cartes” (Inside information), an educational program from géopolitique presented by Jean-Christophe Victor, is the starting point for his project: how can immersive technologies offer a new experience in understanding the complexity of today’s world? In VR Geopolitics, Quentin decided to focus on sensory perception in immersive information processing. The assessment protocol of his first demonstrator validated the importance of the cognitive dimension through the memorization of the user journey. For this immersive path is enhanced by a variety of media content (print, radio, audiovisual, etc.) which then have to be organized, prioritized and spatialized in order to convey an editorial standpoint. Highlighted in the context of the international VR event Laval Virtual 2017, VR Geopolitics has proved a hit with the media and information experts.”

Grégoire Cliquet, READi Design Lab Director
Arnaud Le Roi, Digital culture Course Leader

Designer(s)

After completing a bachelor’s degree in Interaction Design, Quentin joined the UX Design/Virtual Reality program and the double degree at Arts et Métiers Paris Tech. He is pursuing his work on complex data at the head office of Palantir Technologies in California, where he works on the data analysis tools used by the CIA, FBI, the US army, Airbus or Merck. Quentin takes his motivation and inspiration from the work of Wilson Miner who has redefined the role of designer around his/her capacity to shape our world.

His design philosophy is influenced by media philosopher Marshall McLuhan: “We shape our tools, and thereafter our tools shape us.”

quentinlepape@gmail.com
www.quentinlepape.com

Related articles

Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

VR Geopolitics

#culture numérique #cycle master #exposition

// Quentin Le Pape

Application en réalité virtuelle

Actualités internationales et enjeux mondiaux

Le projet en vidéo

Application de réalité virtuelle, VR Geopolitics présente l’actualité internationale et les enjeux mondiaux de manière plus accessible et mémorable. VR Geopolitics allie journalisme, géopolitique et cartographie pour offrir une perception sensorielle du traitement de l’information. Immergé, l’utilisateur vit une nouvelle expérience dans la compréhension de la complexité du monde. Un globe terrestre interactif permet de manipuler les données de l’information produites par les journalistes et de s’approprier des enjeux de l’actualité.

« Quentin, étudiant en double diplôme à L’École de design et au sein d’Arts et Métiers ParisTech (Laval) propose d’utiliser la réalité virtuelle pour documenter, apprendre et comprendre le monde. “Le Dessous des Cartes”, émission éducative de géopolitique présentée par Jean-Christophe Victor, est le point de départ de son projet : comment les technologies immersives peuvent offrir une nouvelle expérience dans la compréhension de la complexité du monde contemporain ? Dans VR Geopolitics, Quentin a décidé de privilégier la perception sensorielle dans le traitement de l’information en immersion. Le protocole d’évaluation de son premier démonstrateur a permis de valider l’importance de la dimension cognitive par la mémorisation du parcours de l’utilisateur. Le parcours immersif est par ailleurs enrichi par de nombreux contenus média (presse écrite, radiophonique, audiovisuelle…) qu’il s’agit d’organiser, de hiérarchiser, de spatialiser afin de servir un point de vue éditorial. Sélectionné dans le cadre du salon international Laval Virtual 2017, VR Geopolitics a été plébiscité par les médias et les experts de l’information. »


Grégoire Cliquet, directeur du Design Lab READi
Arnaud Le Roi, responsable pédagogique Culture numérique

Designer(s)

Après son cycle bachelor en design d’interactivité, Quentin poursuit en simultané le programme UX Design / Réalité virtuelle à l’École de Design et le Master Ingénierie du virtuel et de l’innovation à Arts et Métiers Paris Tech. Il prolonge son travail sur les données complexes en intégrant le siège de Palantir Technologies en Californie, pour travailler sur les outils d’analyse de données utilisés par la CIA, le FBI, l’armée américaine, Airbus ou Merck. Quentin puise sa motivation et son inspiration dans les travaux de Wilson Miner, lequel redéfinit le rôle du designer autour de sa capacité à façonner notre monde.


Sa philosophie du design est influencée par le philosophe des médias Marshall McLuhan : “We shape our tools, and thereafter our tools shape us.”


quentinlepape@gmail.com

www.quentinlepape.com

 

À lire également