English
Print
Share
Back to search

Vertigo

#events #exhibition #postgraduate studies

// Alice Le Mouël

Vertigo reclaims blind walls (walls with no windows or other openings) by using them as community gardens for the residents of apartment blocks. Using an off-ground method of hydroponic cultivation consisting of prefabricated wooden platforms stacked one above the other using removable and reusable structures, the project addresses the issues of ecology and urban environments. The vertical surface replaces the ground surface and provides a new way of re-densifying the area.

“The project focuses on blind walls, residual surface areas resulting from various urban planning regulations enforced over the years. Alice considered these walls as a non-space, inert, literally turning their back on the city, and her approach was to view them as a surface with something to offer; a surface whose potential was just waiting to be revealed. Vertigo reclaims these surfaces by giving them a new purpose - that of community gardens intended for the residents. Vertigo deals with the environment, in the wider sense of the term - the urban environment but also ecology - and poses the question of property: how can we tackle the issue of densification today while also considering economies of land and materials? “Soft” densification preserves real estate and is respectful of the context and local resources, with the requirement of reusing construction materials. The question of citizen participation in constructing cities and public spaces is also addressed, with program options being designed collaboratively. […] The facades are also addressed since the attractiveness and vitality of the areas located at the foot of the building are directly linked to the habitats. Their quality of use and comfort also guarantees the smooth democratic running of cities. It’s a reinterpretation of the city that turns traditional plans on their head: an innovative approach which shows a shift in the vision that we have of space, paving the way for urban design.”

Christine Vignaud, Course leader - Sustainable Cities

Étoile de l’Observeur de la ville de Paris 2016.

Designer(s)

Alice Le Mouël

 

After completing a bachelor’s degree in Product Design, Alice took a MDes in Mutations of the Built Environment. Thanks to the internships that she did during her course at Marcel By and Colonel in Paris and Barber Osgerby in London, she had the opportunity to gain a better understanding of furniture and home accessories. In everyday life, her motto is “nothing ventured, nothing gained”. Alice is planning to set up a creative studio/showroom largely devoted to design for children.  

Related articles

Français
road_vous_etes_ici
Accueil
/
Projets
/
Vertigo
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Vertigo

#cycle master #design urbain #événements

// Alice Le Mouël

Vertigo réinvestit les murs aveugles en leur donnant fonction de jardins collectifs à disposition des habitants des immeubles. Sur un mode hors-sol en culture hydroponique, ces plateformes superposées avec des méthodes de préfabrication en bois et des structures démontables et réutilisables répondent aux problématiques d’écologie et d’environnement urbain. La surface verticale se substitue à la surface au sol et propose une nouvelle façon de densifier l’espace.

« Le projet questionne les murs aveugles, surfaces résiduelles, conséquences de règlements urbains qui se sont superposés dans le temps. Considérant cette forme comme « non pensée » et inerte, tournant littéralement le dos à la ville, Alice l’a approchée comme une surface offrante, dont on pourrait révéler le potentiel. Vertigo réinvestit ces surfaces en leur donnant une fonction, celle de jardins collectifs mis à disposition des habitants. Vertigo traite de l’environnement, au sens large, environnement urbain mais aussi écologique, et pose la question du foncier : comment penser la densification aujourd’hui en pensant également à l’économie de terrain et de matériaux ? Une densification « douce » préserve le foncier et se révèle attentive au contexte et aux ressources locales, avec l’exigence du réemploi des matériaux. La question de la participation citoyenne dans la fabrique des villes et des espaces publics est également posée, avec des choix programmatiques construits de manière collaborative. […] L’attractivité et la vitalité des espaces situés en pied d’immeuble et directement reliés aux habitats, les « frontages », sont aussi traités. Leur qualité d’usage et de confort garantit également le bon fonctionnement démocratique des villes. C’est une relecture de la ville, en inversion des plans : une approche innovante qui démontre une mutation dans la vision même de l’espace, ouvrant la voie au design urbain. »

Christine Vignaud, Responsable pédagogique Ville durable

Étoile de l’Observeur de la ville de Paris 2016.

Designer(s)

Alice Le Mouël

Après un cycle bachelor en design produit, Alice a suivi le programme de cycle master Mutations du cadre bâti. Par ses stages pendant son cursus chez Marcel By et Colonel à Paris et Barber Osgerby à Londres, elle a eu l’opportunité de mieux appréhender le mobilier et les accessoires de la maison. Dans la vie de tous les jours, sa devise est « qui ne tente rien n’a rien ». Alice envisage d’ailleurs de créer un studio de création/showroom dédié en grande partie au design pour enfants.

À lire également