DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal Cotonou
English
Print
Share
Back to search

Urban Pixel

#design labs #city design #exhibition

// Weina Tang

Urban Pixel, a set of "pixel" robots

Modular street furniture scattered throughout the city

The essential functions are proposed: seating, lighting, information and greening.

Weina’s project is also a vector of conviviality within the city

What kind of city and what kind of social ties do we want for tomorrow? Faced with the rise of robotics and technology, we are experiencing a real “urban robolution”. Robots assist us on a daily basis, intervening even in the most private areas of our lives. In this context, what happens to human interaction? How are social connections created in the city?

Urban Pixel is a proposal for urban street furniture. Modular urban pixels are projected onto large public esplanades. Each pixel has a specific function. In addition to bringing conviviality to the heart of the city, Urban Pixel gets people talking about the use of robotics applied to the global urban environment.

"Weina proposes a poetic and scenographic ballet generated by a set of "pixel" robots. They make the urban space vibrate by moving around and combining with one another according to the needs of the city’s users. This prospective project questions our relationship to the robotic city. While the collective imagination reflects a technocratic vision of optimizing the management of cities, Weina takes a different approach. The essential functions of a welcoming city are provided: seating, lighting, information and greenery, in a cumulative and targeted logic. Supported by a multidisciplinary team of experts, Weina has been able to grasp the stakes of the smart city and the need for a social and human approach. She has also tried out her designs on inhabitants to adjust her vision. Weina initiates a new form of dialogue between the robot and the inhabitant, for the benefit of greater urban socialization. Her work builds on the urban service design initiated by TENCENT in Beijing. And what about you ? How do you see the robotic city?"

Anais Jacquard - City Design Lab Course Leader

This project is selected as part of Design L’Expo 2020 and will be exhibited at La Cale 2 Créateurs.

 

Designer(s)

2020
End of studies internship, lndustrial Designer, Samsonite, Audenarde, Belgium

2018 - 2020
Urban Design MDes, City Design Lab, L’École de design Nantes Atlantique, France

2016
Internship, transport designer, Gac Motor, Guangzhou, China

2013-2017
Bachelor’s in Art Design, Transportation Design, Central Academy of Fine Arts, Beijing, China

Motto: " I define urban design as designing relationships. "

orangetangweina@gmail.com
weinatang.net

Related articles

DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal
Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Urban Pixel

#city design #cycle master #design labs

// Weina Tang

Urban Pixel, un ensemble de robots “pixel”

Du mobilier urbain modulaire disséminé dans la ville

Les fonctions essentielles sont proposées : assise, éclairage, information et végétalisation

Le projet de Weina est aussi vecteur de convivialité au sein de la cité

Quel genre de ville et quel type de lien social voulons-nous pour demain ? Face à l’essor de la robotique et de la technologie, nous vivons une réelle “robolution urbaine". Des robots nous assistent au quotidien, intervenant même jusqu’aux confins de notre vie privée. Dans ce contexte, que devient l’interaction entre humains ? Comment le lien social se crée-t-il en ville ?

Urban Pixel est une proposition de mobilier urbain. Des pixels urbains modulaires sont projetés sur de grandes esplanades publiques. Chaque Pixel a une fonction spécifique. En plus d’être un vecteur de convivialité au sein de la cité, Urban Pixel suscite un débat sur l’usage de la robotique appliqué à l’environnement urbain global.

« Weina propose un ballet poétique et scénographique généré par un ensemble de robots “pixel”. Ceux-ci font vibrer l’espace urbain en se déplaçant et s’additionnant au gré des besoins des usagers de la ville. Ce projet, situé dans un contexte prospectif, questionne notre rapport à la ville robotisée. Alors que l’imaginaire collectif reflète une vision technocratique d’optimisation de la gestion des villes, Weina se démarque. Les fonctions essentielles d’une ville accueillante sont proposées : assise, éclairage, information et végétalisation, dans une logique additionnelle et ciblée. Entourée d’une équipe plurielle d’experts, Weina a su saisir les enjeux de la ville intelligente et la nécessité d’une approche sociale et humaine. Elle a également expérimenté ses dispositifs avec les habitants, pour ajuster sa vision. Weina initie une nouvelle forme de dialogue entre le robot et l’habitant, au bénéfice d’une plus grande socialisation urbaine. Son travail s’inscrit dans la continuité du design de services urbains initié par TENCENT à Pékin. Et vous ? Comment voyez-vous la ville robotisée ? »

Anaïs Jacquard, Responsable pédagogique City Design Lab

Ce projet est sélectionné dans le cadre de Design L’Expo 2020 et sera exposé à La Cale 2 Créateurs.

 

Designer(s)

2020
Stage de fin d’études, Industrial Designer, Samsonite, Audenarde, Belgique

2018 - 2020
MDes Design urbain, City Design Lab, L’École de design Nantes Atlantique, France

2016
Stage, transport designer, Gac Motor, Guangzhou, Chine

2013 - 2017
Bachelor, Art Design, Transportation Design, Central Academy of Fine Arts, Pékin, Chine

Motto : « Je définis le design urbain comme un design des relations. »

orangetangweina@gmail.com
weinatang.net

 
 

À lire également