DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal Cotonou
English
Print
Share
Back to search

Trust in hospital

#china #events #exhibition

// Myriam Moisan

Trust in hospital

Developing trust in the hospital environment in China

At their busiest times, hospitals in China, as the only places suitable for delivering medical care there, are similar to airports. Relationships between patients and healthcare workers suffer from a lack of communication and confidence.

Thanks to sensitive and empathic communication (a concept called Healthcare Environmental Design), the hospital environment will be made less inaccessible and more comprehensible for patients, so that they can feel more confident.

The primary aim of the signs is to improve the patient experience by offering a simple prioritisation and orientation system for easy navigation within the complex space. With patients and visitors often frustrated or anxious, a tracking and guidance system must be offered so that they can move around with absolute confidence, along with a visual language associated with feelings and emotions. In Chinese culture, health and trust are closely linked to a sense of peace and harmony with nature. The curved shapes and random arrangement provide a scrolling readout of information which evokes nature – something the Chinese are very fond of.

This project is exhibited at Hangar 32 at “Design l’Expo”, from 28th November 2014 to 25th January 2015.

Related articles

DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal Cotonou
Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Trust in hospital

#chine #design & interculturalité #événements

// Myriam Moisan

Trust in hospital

Développer la confiance dans l’environnement hospitalier en Chine

Seuls lieux adaptés pour recevoir des soins médicaux en Chine, les hôpitaux sont semblables, en période d’affluence maximale, à des aéroports. La relation entre les patients et le personnel de santé souffre d’un manque de communication et de confiance.

Grâce à une communication sensible et empathique (concept appelé Healthcare Environmental Design), le milieu hospitalier sera rendu moins inaccessible, plus compréhensible pour les patients, leur permettant ainsi de se sentir en confiance.

La signalétique a pour mission première d’améliorer l’expérience du patient, par un système de hiérarchisation et d’orientation simple au sein d’un espace complexe. Dans un contexte où patients et visiteurs sont souvent contrariés ou anxieux, il faut offrir un système de repérage et d’orientation pour se déplacer en toute confiance, avec un langage visuel associé aux sensations et aux émotions. Dans la culture chinoise, la santé et la confiance sont étroitement liées à un sentiment de paix et d’harmonie avec la nature. Les formes courbes et l’agencement aléatoire donnent une lecture en "cascade" de l’information qui évoque la nature à laquelle sont attachés les chinois.

Ce projet est exposé au Hangar 32, à l’occasion de Design L’Expo, du 28 novembre 2014 au 25 janvier 2015.

À lire également