English
Print
Share
Back to search

I Am Tangram

#india studio #exhibition #india

// Victor Caristan

Educational toy

Visual cognition and motor skills

An easy-to-use educational toy, I Am Tangram is specifically tailored to 5 to 12-year-olds with learning difficulties or to children who do not have access to the education system. The design appeal lies in the 3D form of the puzzle which motivates children to take up the challenge and work together to explore the various dimensions. The aim is to teach children to read, count and use logical reasoning but also to improve their visual and motor skills. 

In India, many children do not have access to quality learning tools or do not attend school. […] I Am Tangram is based on the idea of encouraging children to play together and on the concept of mutual learning to develop skills […] I’m particularly impressed by this project which focuses on the development of visual cognition and motor skills in children. It’s essential, as many children in India suffer from delayed development at a young age due to malnutrition. Offering these children educational toys helps improve their learning and skills. The final result paves the way for a wide range of similar educational toys for different age groups. […] Victor spent a long time researching existing toys and the lives of children in and out of school. He identified the basic gestures – pinching, grabbing, assembling, touching, but also understanding. These are the basic skills necessary to develop sound motor skills in children.”

Kshitiz Anand, India Studio Course Leader

Designer(s)

After a degree in Applied Arts and Design at the university of Nîmes, Victor joined the India Studio in Delhi to follow the Transcultural Design program. His various internships confirmed his choice of product design: at RBC Design Center Montpellier, designer and distributor of contemporary furniture, Design Factory India, international design agency and Port Designs in Paris for his final internship, a design agency and distributor in the sector of luggage and IT accessories.

He is currently looking for a position in a product design agency in Europe, ideally designing furniture or contemporary products.

victorcaristan@gmail.com

www.behance.net/victorcaristan

Related articles

Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

I Am Tangram

#cycle master #design & interculturalité #exposition

// Victor Caristan

Jeu éducatif

Cognition visuelle et motricité

Jouet éducatif simple d’utilisation, I Am Tangram est particulièrement adapté aux enfants entre 5 et 12 ans ayant des difficultés d’apprentissage ou n’ayant pas accès au système éducatif. L’attrait du design réside dans la forme 3D du puzzle qui motive les enfants à relever le défi, à travailler ensemble pour explorer les différentes dimensions. Le but est d’apprendre aux enfants à lire, compter, faire preuve de logique mais aussi améliorer leurs capacités visuelles et motrices.

« En Inde, de nombreux enfants n’ont pas accès à des outils d’apprentissage de qualité ou ne sont pas scolarisés. I Am Tangram repose sur l’idée de faire jouer les enfants ensemble et sur le concept d’apprentissage mutuel pour développer des compétences. […] J’apprécie tout particulièrement ce projet qui se concentre sur le développement de la cognition visuelle et de l’habileté motrice de l’enfant. C’est essentiel, car de nombreux enfants en Inde souffrent d’un retard de développement durant leur jeune âge en raison de malnutrition. Proposer aux enfants des jouets éducatifs permet d’améliorer leur apprentissage et leurs compétences. Le résultat final ouvre la voie à un large panel de jouets éducatifs similaires pour différents groupes d’âge. […]
Victor a longuement étudié les jeux proposés et la vie des enfants scolarisés et non scolarisés. Il a recensé les gestes de base – pincer, attraper, assembler, toucher, mais aussi comprendre. Ce sont des capacités très basiques pour développer une habileté motrice solide chez l’enfant. »

Kshitiz Anand, responsable pédagogique Design & interculturalité India Studio

Designer(s)

Après une licence en arts appliqués et design à l’Université de Nîmes, Victor a rejoint l’India Studio à Delhi pour suivre le programme Design et interculturalité. Ses différents stages l’ont conforté dans son choix du design produit : chez RBC Design Center Montpellier, showroom créateur et distributeur de mobilier contemporain, Design Factory India, agence de design global et Port Designs à Paris pour son stage de fin d’études, agence créatrice et distributrice dans le secteur de la bagagerie et de l’accessoire informatique.

Il est actuellement à la recherche d’un poste dans une agence de design produit en Europe, idéalement dans le design de mobilier ou de produits contemporains.

victorcaristan@gmail.com
www.behance.net/victorcaristan

À lire également