English
Print
Share
Back to search

Sleep On It

#international #china #exhibition

// Thomas Rogel

Discover the video of the "Sleep On It" project

Sleep On It is an educational mural located at one of Shanghai’s subway station exits – it illustrates the negative effects linked to stress and the human body’s need for sleep. With the accompanying mobile application, the student is both spectator and actor in their own well-being. The user is connected to a personalized avatar which evolves thanks to the quality and duration of their sleep. The student is therefore led into a virtuous circle: taking care of their avatar and their own physical condition.


“High urban density leads to a race for excellence from a very early age; it is hard for us in the West to imagine. It is, however, a reality for millions of young people who are under constant pressure from society and family. Thomas’ study has demonstrated its relevance thanks to the visual representation of the figures, by highlighting the zones with the highest stress levels in Shanghai. Stressed Shanghai students have such heavy workloads and long days that they are counter-productive or even harmful. Sleep On It aims to demonstrate the consequences of this lifestyle in an area used by students daily.
Finding a site to exhibit his project whilst respecting the major constraints of public areas in Shanghai was a challenge. In the end it was the subway entries/exits which would accommodate this experiment: an important part of the students’ home-school journey and for this reason a symbol of the burden of daily life. The project’s ambitions were to change the décor, grab students’ attention, make them question this tiring lifestyle and, in doing so, help them take charge of their own lives.”


Mathieu Bernard, Course Leader - Transcultural Design China Studio

 

Designer(s)

Thomas Rogel


Thomas completed a Bachelor’s degree in Spatial Design then the Master’s degree in Transcultural Design in China. He had the opportunity to learn all about the workings of the Chinese market during internships at Octopus Innovation and A.I.A. Architectes in Shanghai.
Thomas’ intercultural experience helped him to question his habits, practices and his understanding of a new environment to develop a user-centred design methodology in which empathy is key. He continues to live and work in Shanghai, China for A.I.A. Architectes where he has been hired as a spatial designer.

Related articles

DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal
Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Sleep On It

#chine #cycle master #design & interculturalité

// Thomas Rogel

Découvrez la vidéo de " Sleep On It"

Frise murale à vocation éducative implantée à l’une des sorties de métro de Shanghai, Sleep On It illustre les effets négatifs liés au stress et les besoins du corps humain en terme de sommeil. Avec l’application mobile correspondante, l’étudiant est à la fois spectateur et acteur de son bien-être. L’utilisateur est connecté à un avatar personnalisé qu’il fait évoluer grâce à la qualité et à la durée de son sommeil. Il est alors entraîné dans une boucle vertueuse : prendre soin de son avatar et de son propre état physique.


« La forte densité urbaine entraîne une course à l’excellence dès le plus jeune âge, difficile à imaginer depuis l’Occident. C’est pourtant une réalité pour des millions de jeunes qui vivent une pression sociétale et familiale omniprésente. L’étude de Thomas a montré sa pertinence grâce à la représentation visuelle des chiffres, en mettant en lumière les zones de Shanghai à haut niveau de stress. Les jeunes shanghaiens stressés ont des journées tellement lourdes qu’elles en deviennent contre-productives voire néfastes. Sleep On It se propose de communiquer les conséquences de ce mode de vie dans l’espace d’un lieu fréquenté quotidiennement par les étudiants.
Trouver un site d’exposition pour son projet en respectant les contraintes fortes de l’espace public de Shanghai fut un challenge. Ce seront finalement les accès au métro qui accueilleront cette expérimentation, partie intégrante du trajet maison – école des étudiants et symbole en ce sens de la pesanteur du quotidien. Changer le décor, interpeller les étudiants, les questionner sur ce rythme de vie exigeant et les amener ainsi à se prendre en main, voilà l’ambition de ce projet. »


Mathieu Bernard, responsable pédagogique Design & interculturalité - China Studio

Designer(s)

Thomas Rogel


Thomas a suivi un cycle bachelor en Design d’espace puis le programme de cycle master Design & interculturalité en Chine. Il a pu s’imprégner du fonctionnement du marché chinois lors de stages chez Octopus Innovation et A.I.A. Architectes à Shanghai.
L’expérience transculturelle de Thomas lui a permis de remettre en question ses habitudes, ses pratiques et sa compréhension d’un environnement nouveau pour développer une méthodologie design centrée sur l’usager, où l’empathie est le premier des comportements à adopter. Il poursuit son expatriation chinoise et son parcours au sein d’A.I.A. Architectes à Shanghai, agence où il a été embauché en tant que designer d’espace.

À lire également