English
Print
Share
Back to search

Rencontres au fil de l’eau

#events #exhibition #sustainable cities

// Simon Denis

Integrating accessibility and intermodal facilities into marinas

This walks along the waterside "Promenades au fil de l’eau" project looks at how to make the port of Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie infrastructure accessible to the increasing number of elderly pleasure boaters.

What is the role of design in a project as huge as the development of a port? In order to define usable spaces and spaces for economic development, it is primarily essential to coordinate the project’s stakeholders: port managers for economic viability, engineers for technical feasibility, architects for the infrastructure, as well as users, in order to define the specifications for an “augmented” infrastructure which is fully integrated into the town.

The issue of accessibility for all is at the very heart of this infrastructure project. Accessibility is not merely a question of standards for persons with reduced mobility. A major project, this is also the pretext for reconsidering how spaces are used. Far from being considered as just a way to “keep up” with standards, the design for all initiative improves the usability of infrastructures which are ordinarily dedicated to transport.

This project is exhibited at Hangar 32 at “Design l’Expo”, from 28th November 2014 to 25th January 2015.

Related articles

DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal Cotonou
Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Rencontres au fil de l’eau

#événements #exposition #ville durable

// Simon Denis

Introduire accessibilité et intermodalité dans les ports de plaisance

Le projet "Promenades au fil de l’eau" porte une réflexion sur le port de Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie dans une démarche de mise en accessibilité de cette infrastructure, pour une population de plaisanciers seniors de plus en plus importante.

Quel est le rôle du design dans un projet aussi vaste que l’aménagement d’un port ? Pour définir des des espaces de vie et de développement économique, il faut avant tout coordonner les acteurs du projet : gestionnaires du port pour la viabilité économique, ingénieurs pour la faisabilité technique, architectes pour l’infrastructure, usagers, afin de définir le cahier des charges d’une infrastructure "augmentée" totalement intégrée dans la ville.

La question de l’accessibilité pour tous est au cœur de ce projet d’infrastructure. L’accessibilité n’est pas seulement une question de normes pour les personnes à mobilité réduite. Intervention lourde, elle est aussi le prétexte pour repenser la vie des espaces. Bien loin d’être pensée sous le mode du "rattrapage" normatif, la démarche de design for all améliore l’habitabilité des infrastructures dédiées habituellement au transport.

Ce projet est exposé au Hangar 32, à l’occasion de Design L’Expo, du 28 novembre 2014 au 25 janvier 2015.

À lire également