English
Print
Share
Back to search

Shikumen

#china studio #china #interaction design

// Mickaël Denié

This project falls into the context of intercultural relations between France and China. It looks at issues of "local" and "global" raised by globalization and particularly internationalization. The philosophy of this project is simple: "Think local, expand globally", rather than the famous "Think global, act locally". Today’s consumer society on a global scale has led us into a cycle of "buy, use, dispose".

My standpoint sheds another light on the situation. It is based on the premise that people may want to enjoy a product without necessarily wanting to buy it.

I see it as a form of collaborative consumption, of the kind that can be found in Shikumen, the traditional Shanghai residences.

The idea was to take the basic concept of a Shikumen, and to reinject it into a solution for modern apartments. The key features were retained: confined space, controlled access, shared space, interaction, word of mouth, etc.

The site/service designed makes it possible to create online trust, to share products/services offline, and to improve social relationships in the neighbourhood. Its puts neighbours in touch with one another, on the basis of a local social network.

Just like the Shikumen, the site/service can be accessed in two possible ways: one public and one private. Using public access, you can only access the platform and observe what’s going on. With private access, you need to have an account and a user identity in order to interact in the community. The system’s transparency helps to build up trust.

The identity and aesthetics of the service and the typeface of the logo evoke the idea’s Asian origin. But it remains pure and minimalist so that everyone can identify with it. The page templates are simple. Everyone can find their way around easily, whether they’re on "Neighbourhoods", "My profile" or "Neighbours’ profiles".

The site uses the various benefits of the modern web system (HTML5+CSS3) as well as javascript. It can thus be consulted from any computer.

If for some reason a user can’t find what he/she is looking for, there are two possible solutions:

- widen the search to other neighbourhoods

- ask for assistance from an official guide.

This community networking system is based on the idea of public service, and thus is free for all to use, being funded by the local council who, incidentally, will also benefit from the site in terms of an easier management of neighbourhoods/districts.

Related articles

Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Shikumen

#china studio #chine #design & interculturalité

// Mickaël Denié

Ce projet s’inscrit dans le contexte interculturel France-Chine. Il aborde les questions du "local" et du "global" soulevées par la mondialisation et surtout la globalisation. La philosophie de ce projet est simple : "Penser local, élargir au global", plutôt que le célèbre "Penser global, agir localement". La société de consommation à l’échelle mondiale nous a entraîné dans le cycle du "achetons, utilisons, jetons".

Mon positionnement apporte un autre éclairage. Il part du postulat que les personnes peuvent vouloir bénéficier des avantages d’un produit sans pour autant vouloir l’acheter.

J’y vois l’idée d’une forme de consommation collaborative, telle qu’on peut la trouver dans les Shikumen, systèmes traditionnels d’habitats shanghaïens.

L’idée a été d’extraire l’essence même de ce qu’est un Shikumen, afin de la réinjecter dans une solution pour les appartements modernes. Nous en avons repris les différentes caractéristiques: espace confiné, accès contrôlé, espace partagé, interactions, bouche à oreille… .

Le site/service conçu permet de créer de la confiance en ligne, et de partager des produits/services hors ligne, d’enrichir les relations sociales dans le quartier. Il met en contact les voisins, sur la base du réseau social local.

Tout comme les Shikumen, le site/service est à deux accès possibles : un public et un privé. En accès public, on peut seulement accéder à la plateforme et observer ce qui se passe. En accès privé, il faut avoir un compte et être identifié pour participer à la communauté. La transparence du système permet d’établir la confiance.

L’identité et l’esthétique du service, la typographie du logo, rappellent l’origine asiatiques de l’inspiration. Mais reste sobre, épurée afin que tout le monde puisse se l’approprier. Les gabarits des pages sont simples. Chacun peut se repérer facilement, que ce soit les pages "Quartiers", "Mon profil" ou encore "profil des voisins".

Le site utilise les différents avantages du web moderne HTML5+CSS3 ainsi que javascript. De ce fait il peut être consulté de n’importe quel ordinateur.

Si jamais un utilisateur ne parvient pas à ce qu’il a demandé, il a deux solutions possibles:

- élargir sa recherche à d’autres quartiers
- faire appel à une personne préposée pour le guider.

Ce système communautaire repose sur l’idée de service public, donc d’une accessibilité gratuite à tous, prise en charge par les municipalités qui pourront par ailleurs bénéficier des retombées d’une meilleure gestion des quartiers.

À lire également