English
Print
Share
Back to search

SathSath

#events #exhibition #india

// Marianne Javelot

Discover the video of the project "SathSath"

SathSath addresses a local problem linked to economic, social and environmental issues through the creation of a community of farmers and consumers in Bangalore (India). Adapting CSA to the Indian context promotes “healthy eating for healthy living” and aims to showcase local organic producers. Consumers are committed to helping farmers in a win-win relationship.

“In the last few years, India has seen an increasing number of suicides in the farming community as well as increasingly unhealthy eating habits in city-dwellers. SathSath is based on a concept of community-supported agriculture in which farm producers are in direct contact with the consumer to solve these two problems. City-dwellers should give their support to local farmers and learn more about where their food comes from. It is also a means of limiting waste in production and consumption. SathSath promotes the consumption of organic farm produce and helps make people aware of the importance of a healthy diet. By dealing directly with the farmers, the consumers benefit more from organic produce. SathSath includes several different services: collection of baskets, events to bring together the key actors, information workshops and an on-line platform to track the deliveries, meetings and various events. Similar to the concept of farmers’ markets, in this case the end consumer is committed to supporting certain farmers through a subscription, in a win-win relationship. […] Communities have a lot to gain by organizing SathSath events. Marianne’s project is interesting because it takes into account the system as a whole, with well-designed and attractive promotional aids for consumers and a very well thought out and defined strategy.”

Kshitiz Anand, Course leader - Transcultural Design India Studio

Designer(s)

Marianne Javelot

 

After completing a Bachelor’s degree in Graphic Design, Marianne decided to pursue the Master’s degree in Transcultural Design in India. The international context enabled her to develop her flexibility and her empathy, but also to think about ethical questions, which is vital for a designer. After doing her final internship at Nouvel Œuvre in Paris, she is now working as a freelance graphic designer and artistic director for various French and international clients.

Related articles

DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal
Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

SathSath

#cycle master #design & interculturalité #événements

// Marianne Javelot

Découvrez la vidéo de SathSath

SathSath répond à une problématique locale liée à des enjeux économiques, sociaux, et environnementaux avec la mise en place d’une communauté d’agriculteurs et de consommateurs à Bangalore (Inde). AMAP adaptée au contexte indien, elle vise à « manger sainement pour vivre sainement » et à mettre en avant des producteurs biologiques locaux. Les consommateurs s’engagent à aider les agriculteurs dans une relation gagnant/gagnant entre les deux populations.

« Depuis quelques années, l’Inde dénombre de plus en plus de suicides chez les agriculteurs et des habitudes alimentaires de moins en moins saines chez les citadins. SathSath repose sur un concept d’agriculture soutenue par la communauté dans lequel les producteurs agricoles sont en lien direct avec le consommateur pour résoudre ces deux problèmes. Les urbains doivent pouvoir apporter leur soutien aux agriculteurs locaux et mieux comprendre l’origine de leurs aliments. C’est également le moyen de limiter le gaspillage dans la production et dans la consommation. SathSath promeut la consommation de produits agricoles biologiques et encourage une prise de conscience de l’importance d’une alimentation saine. En traitant directement avec les agriculteurs, les consommateurs profitent davantage des produits biologiques. SathSath comprend plusieurs volets : ramassage des paniers, événements réunissant les acteurs, ateliers d’information, et plateforme en ligne pour suivre les livraisons, les rencontres et les divers événements. Proche du concept du marché de producteurs, le consommateur final s’engage ici par une adhésion à soutenir certains agriculteurs, dans une relation gagnante pour les deux parties. […] Les communautés auraient beaucoup à gagner en organisant des rencontres SathSath. Le projet de Marianne est intéressant car il prend en compte le système dans sa globalité, avec des supports promotionnels utilisés bien conçus et attractifs pour les consommateurs et une stratégie définie et très bien pensée. »

Kshitiz Anand, Responsable pédagogique Design & interculturalité India Studio

Designer(s)

Marianne Javelot


Après un cycle bachelor en design graphique, Marianne a suivi le programme de cycle master Design et interculturalité en Inde. Ce contexte international lui a permis de travailler sur sa flexibilité et son empathie, mais aussi de réfléchir à des questions éthiques, notions essentielles pour un designer. Après un stage de fin d’études chez Nouvel Œuvre à Paris, elle travaille actuellement en tant que designer graphique et directrice artistique freelance pour divers clients français et internationaux.

À lire également