DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal Cotonou
English
Print
Share
Back to search

Nébula

#le studio montreal #entrepreneurship #events

// Bastien Padiolleau

Nébula is a smart night light that accompanies children suffering from separation anxiety.

Every night, a card symbolizing an emotion is placed on the night light

The cards allow children to express themselves and talk about their emotions

The child then chooses a slide from the associated book

The chosen pattern is diffused by the night light.

In order to grow and thrive, children need a strong relationship with their attachment figure, often the mother. This psychological mechanism allows the child to move from a strong dependence on the parent to full independence as an adult.

For 2 to 8 years old suffering from separation anxiety, Bastien has come up with Nébula: an evolving night light that accompanies them as they grow. It facilitates the separation with the parent, thanks to a reassuring nighttime routine. In the evening, the child places a colored card on the night light. It symbolizes the main emotion experienced during the day. She then chooses a slide from an accompanying book. In this way, she gradually masters her emotions and falls asleep, soothed.

" Bastien created Nébula, a lamp that helps children overcome their anxiety. Working on separation anxiety made sense for him. So he created a rich network of local actors around him, in order to find the position of designer needed for the project. After studying the different phases of a child’s development, he met with and observed many specialists. Then he spoke with parents and children, to target the precise moment of his intervention. He chose bedtime for very young children. His object allows even toddlers to express the emotions experienced during the day and to resolve any negative feelings generated. This is what makes it stand out from other objects on the market. More than a simple night light, Nébula encourages children to dialogue with their parents and to create a special moment before going to sleep. The round shape of the lamp subtly evokes a small comforting companion. To ensure the product’s longevity, Bastien has also thought about the scalability of Nebula, so it adapts to the age of the child. "

Julie Le Ster - Le Studio Montréal Course Leader

This project is selected as part of Design L’Expo 2020 and will be exhibited at La Cale 2 Créateurs.

Designer(s)

2020
End of studies internship, Akonite, furniture and boardsports equipment, Paris, France

2018 - 2020
Design and entrepreneurship MDes, Le Studio Montréal, L’École de design Nantes Atlantique, Montreal, Canada

2017-2018
lndustrial Products BDes, L’École de design Nantes Atlantique, France

2015-2017
Product Design BTS (2 year advanced diploma), Jean Monnet High School, Les Herbiers, France

Motto: " Less is more. " Mies Van Dert Rohe

bastienpadiolleauOO@gmail.com
bastienpadiolleau-design.com

Related articles

DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal Cotonou
Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Nébula

#cycle master #entreprenariat #événements

// Bastien Padiolleau

Nébula est une veilleuse intelligente qui accompagne les enfants souffrant d’angoisse de séparation

Chaque soir, une carte symbolisant une émotion est placée sur la veilleuse

Les cartes permettent à l’enfant de s’exprimer et de dialoguer sur ses émotions

L’enfant choisit ensuite une diapositive dans le livre associé

Le motif choisi est diffusé par la veilleuse

Pour bien grandir, l’enfant a besoin d’une relation solide avec sa figure d’attachement, souvent la mère. Ce mécanisme psychologique permet à l’enfant de passer d’une forte dépendance au parent à une pleine indépendance, une fois adulte.

Pour les enfants de 2 à 8 ans souffrant d’angoisse de séparation, Bastien a imaginé Nébula : une veilleuse évolutive qui les accompagne. Elle facilite la séparation avec le parent, grâce à une routine nocturne rassurante. Le soir, l’enfant place une carte colorée sur la veilleuse. Elle symbolise l’émotion principale vécue dans la journée. Puis, il choisit une diapositive dans un livre associé. Ainsi, il apprivoise progressivement ses émotions et s’endort, apaisé.

" Bastien a créé Nébula, une lampe qui aide l’enfant à dépasser son anxiété. Travailler sur l’angoisse de séparation faisait sens pour lui. Il a donc tissé un riche réseau d’acteurs locaux autour de lui, afin de trouver la position de designer nécessaire au projet. Après avoir étudié les différentes phases de l’évolution d’un enfant, il a rencontré et observé de nombreux spécialistes. Puis il s’est entretenu avec des parents et enfants, pour cibler le moment précis de son intervention. Il a choisi l’heure du coucher des très jeunes enfants. Son objet permet aux plus petits d’exprimer les émotions vécues dans la journée et de résoudre les contrariétés engendrées. C’est en cela qu’il se démarque des autres objets présents sur le marché. Au-delà d’une simple veilleuse, Nébula encourage l’enfant à dialoguer avec son parent et à créer un moment privilégié avant l’étape du sommeil. La forme de la lampe, toute en rondeur, évoque subtilement un petit compagnon réconfortant. Dans une démarche de continuité, Bastien a aussi réfléchi à l’évolution de Nébula, en fonction de l’âge de l’enfant. "

Julie Le Ster, Responsable pédagogique Le Studio Montréal

Ce projet, exposé à La Cale 2 Créateurs du 15 septembre au 3 octobre 2021, est sélectionné dans le cadre de Design L’Expo 2020.

À voir aussi :

 

Designer(s)

2020
Stage de fin d’études, Akonite, domaine du mobilier et articles de glisse, Paris, France

2018 - 2020
MDes Design et entrepreneuriat, Le Studio Montréal, L’École de design Nantes Atlantique, Montréal, Canada

2017 - 2018
BDes Industrial Products, L’École de design Nantes Atlantique, France

2015 - 2017
BTS Design de Produits, Lycée Jean Monnet, Les Herbiers, France

Motto : « Less is more. » Mies Van Dert Rohe

bastienpadiolleau00@gmail.com
bastienpadiolleau-design.com

 
 

À lire également