English
Print
Share
Back to search

Flow d’énergie

#apprenticeship #design innovation management #events

// Manon Malatray

Flow d’énergie

Piezoelectricity is a renewable energy source which transforms ambient vibrations into energy. This technology is based on the property of certain bodies that become electrically polarised under the action of mechanical stress.

In the pleasure boating environment, renewable energy systems (wind turbines, solar panels or hydro generators) take up a lot of space on board and are therefore not suitable for small boats under 10 metres long. It is therefore useful to propose an alternative energy source in the form of a compact, affordable product which is integrated into the architecture of the boat and, at the same, exploits ambient vibrations.

Flow d’énergie is a portable piezoelectric battery. When thrown into the water, its cable generates energy and recharges a battery inside the product. By oscillating at the rear of the boat, the 10 metre-long piezoelectric cable supplies 30W and can be used to recharge the battery. A roller system enables to store the cable away once the battery is charged. Flow has 3 types of connectors: USB, cigarette lighter and electric plug for recharging any navigation device. The battery supplies 12V, which is the voltage used on board boats.

Manon Malatray won the “Coup de cœur” [favourite] prize, with Flow d’énergie, awarded by a panel of experts at the Maison et Objet trade fair.

This project is exhibited at Hangar 32 at “Design l’Expo”, from 28th November 2014 to 25th January 2015.

Related articles

DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal Cotonou
Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Flow d’énergie

#apprentissage #événements #exposition

// Manon Malatray

Flow d’énergie

Offrir une source d’énergie renouvelable aux plaisanciers en mer

La piézoélectricité est une énergie renouvelable qui transforme les vibrations ambiantes en énergie. Cette technologie repose sur la propriété qu’ont certains corps de se polariser électriquement sous l’action d’une contrainte mécanique.

Dans le milieu de la plaisance, les énergies renouvelables (éoliennes, panneaux solaires ou encore hydro générateur) prennent beaucoup de place à bord et ne sont donc pas adaptées aux petits bateaux de moins de 10 mètres. Il est donc intéressant de proposer une source d’énergie alternative présentée comme un produit compact, financièrement accessible et intégré à l’architecture du bateau tout en exploitant les vibrations ambiantes.

Flow d’énergie est une batterie portable piézoélectrique. Jetée à l’eau, son câble génère de l’énergie et recharge une batterie à l’intérieur du produit. En oscillant à l’arrière du bateau, le câble piézoélectrique de 10 mètres fournit 30W et permet de recharger la batterie. Un système d’enrouleur permet de ranger le câble une fois la batterie chargée. Flow est composée de 3 types de prises : USB, allume cigare et prise électrique pour recharger n’importe quel appareil de navigation. La batterie fournit du 12V, soit la puissance que l’on trouve à bord d’un bateau.

Manon Malatray a décroché, avec Flow d’énergie, le prix "Coup de cœur", décerné par un jury d’experts du salon Maison & Objet.

Ce projet est exposé au Hangar 32, à l’occasion de Design L’Expo, du 28 novembre 2014 au 25 janvier 2015.

À lire également