DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal Cotonou
English
Print
Share
Back to search

Light On / 开 灯

#china studio #china #postgraduate studies

// Lucile Paz

Changing the atmosphere and infusing a cultural dimension into your home

Light On is an evolving and customizable product

The lamp is connected to an application

The luminous object is composed of wooden discs, openworked with symbolic motifs

Lucile used the traditional Chinese latticework for her project

In China’s megacities, traditional knowledge is gradually dying out, overshadowed by the context of ever-growing modernization. How can we protect this cultural heritage and renew it in an entertaining way?

Lucile used the "lattice" shape or the traditional Chinese trellis, for her project. The luminous object is composed of wooden discs, covered in openwork symbolic motifs. Associated with an application and explanatory cards, it is linked to a subscription system. At each celebration of the Chinese lunar calendar, the user receives a new disc whose symbolic power is explained by detailed articles and associated legends. Nature, Buddhism and traditions are put (back) in the spotlight.

"Lucile, as a space designer, has questioned shadow and light in the Chinese habitat. She studied architectural patterns, and some intrinsic elements of Chinese culture: the meaning of shadow, reflections or variations in brightness. Following her analysis of the current cultural context, she imagined a lamp that projects elegant historical motifs on the walls of the house. The product has become scalable and customizable, with patterns chosen by the user according to the seasons. China abounds in architectural treasures that rival the finest castles of the Loire Valley. The relationship that the Chinese have with historic buildings differs greatly from the one the French have with their own heritage. Lucile has experimented with a plurality of prototypes involving Chinese families and users. Her product lets you change the atmosphere and infuse a cultural dimension at home, without touching the existing decor. With a designer’s skill, she creates the space with the delicacy of a Chinese painting."

Eric Mazodier, China Studio course leader

This project is selected as part of Design L’Expo 2020 and will be exhibited at La Cale 2 Créateurs.

Designer(s)

2020
End of studies internship in retail and interior design, Liqui Design, Brighton, UK

2018
Internship in retail design, Creative Capital, Shanghai, China

2018 – 2020
Transcultural Design MDes, China Studio, L’École de design Nantes Atlantique, Shanghai, China

2017-2018
Retail and lnterior Design BDes, L’École de design Nantes Atlantique, France

2016
Internship in interior design, Studio Claude Lecante, Boulogne Billancourt, France

2015-2017
Space Design BTS, Camille Claudel High School, Vauréal, France

lucilepaz@gmail.com
linkedin.com/in/lucile-paz

 
 

Related articles

DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal Cotonou
Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Light On / 开 灯

#china studio #chine #cycle master

// Lucile Paz

Changer d’ambiance et faire infuser une dimension culturelle chez soi

Light On est un produit évolutif et personnalisable

La lampe est associée à une application

L’objet lumineux est composé de disques en bois, ajourés de motifs symboliques

Pour son projet, Lucile a utilisé le treillis chinois traditionnel

Dans les mégapoles chinoises, les savoirs traditionnels s’effacent progressivement, occultés par une modernisation croissante. Comment protéger cet héritage culturel et le renouveler de manière ludique ?

Lucile a utilisé la forme du “lattice” ou le treillis chinois traditionnel, pour son projet. L’objet lumineux est composé de disques en bois, ajourés de motifs symboliques. Associé à une application et à des cartes explicatives,il est lié à un système d’abonnement. A chaque célébration du calendrier lunaire chinois, l’usager reçoit un nouveau disque dont la puissance symbolique est explicitée par des articles détaillés et légendes associées. Nature, bouddhisme et traditions sont (re)mis en lumière.

"Lucile, designer d’espace, a questionné l’ombre et la lumière dans l’habitat chinois. Elle en a étudié les motifs architecturaux, a étudié certains éléments intrinsèques à la culture chinoise : signification de l’ombre, des reflets ou des variations de luminosité. Suite à son analyse du contexte culturel actuel, elle a imaginé une lampe qui projette d’élégants motifs historiques sur les murs de la maison. Le produit est devenu évolutif et personnalisable, avec des motifs choisis par l’utilisateur en fonction des saisons. La Chine regorge de trésors architecturaux et n’a rien à envier aux châteaux de la Loire. La relation qu’ont les Chinois avec le bâtiment diffère très largement de celle des Français avec leur propre patrimoine. Lucile a expérimenté une pluralité de prototypes en impliquant des familles et utilisateurs chinois. Son produit invite à changer d’ambiance et à faire infuser une dimension culturelle chez soi, sans toucher à l’existant. Elle créé une manière habile de designer l’espace, avec la délicatesse d’une peinture chinoise."

Eric Mazodier, responsable pédagogique - China Studio

Ce projet, exposé à La Cale 2 Créateurs du 15 septembre au 3 octobre 2021, est sélectionné dans le cadre de Design L’Expo 2020.

À voir aussi :

 

Designer(s)

2020
Stage de fin d’études en retail et architecture d’intérieur, Liqui Design, Brighton, Royaume-Uni

2018
Stage en retail design, Creative Capital, Shanghai, Chine

2018 - 2020
MDes Design et interculturalité, China Studio, L’École de design Nantes Atlantique, Shanghai, Chine

2017-2018
BDes Retail and Interior Design, L’École de design de Nantes Atlantique, France

2016
Stage en architecture d’intérieur, Studio Claude Lecante, Boulogne Billancourt, France

2015-2017
BTS Design d’Espace, lycée Camille Claudel, Vauréal, France

lucilepaz@gmail.com
linkedin.com/in/lucile-paz 

 
 

À lire également