Blogs
English
Print
Share
< Back to search

Les fruits moches

eventsexhibitionnew eating habitsLéa Rousse

Designer(s)

Léa Rousse

After completing a bachelor’s degree in Product Design, Léa went on to do a MDes program in New Eating Habits. Her final internship at Team Créatif Paris, one of the biggest packaging and branding agencies, gave her a better understanding of volume and packaging. She particularly appreciates the work of designer TJ Girard who has successfully created a concept combining product design, culinary design, food design and events. A dynamic mix of her favorite activities!

Les fruits moches* dramatically increases the value of unsaleable fruit by giving it a sophisticated image. The fruit is presented using techniques which enhance its beauty, distracting consumers from the fruit’s imperfect aesthetics and prompting them to buy it. Despite its “ugliness”, the fruit is presented as a gift of nature, embellished by the material in which it is wrapped and the lace adorning it or transformed into fruit juice perfumed with flowers.


“Léa’s project focuses on the essential problem of food waste. She analyzed the whole life cycle of an apple and the multiple causes for its waste and came to the conclusion that the fruit’s appearance had an important role to play. Dealing with beauty and relational quality between users is a fundamental dimension of design. The question was how to increase the value of a product which has been rejected simply because it is ugly. Léa’s goal was to change our representations of these apples, by decorating them and creating value around them. The ugly apples are wrapped up in fabric or tissue paper using the Japanese technique known as furoshiki or covered in sugar lace. Les fruits moches is a project of great sensitivity which shows how design can be used to tackle responsible innovation issues. Tests have been carried out on both technical and commercial aspects; Léa could well find outlets for her fruits moches.”

Benoit Millet, Director - New Eating Habits Design Lab

 

*Ugly Fruits

Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Les fruits moches

#cycle master #événements #exposition

// Léa Rousse

Les fruits moches valorisent à l’extrême des fruits qui ne pourraient être commercialisés en l’état en leur offrant une image raffinée. Les techniques d’habillage proposées subliment les fruits en passant outre leur esthétique et incitent les consommateurs à l’achat. Les fruits malgré leur laideur sont présentés comme des cadeaux de la nature embellis par le tissu qui les entoure, la dentelle qui les pare ou leur transformation en jus de fruits parfumés aux fleurs.


« Le projet de Léa s’inscrit dans la problématique essentielle du gaspillage alimentaire. Elle s’est interrogée sur l’ensemble du cycle de vie d’une pomme, les multiples causes de son gaspillage et s’est rendue compte que l’esthétique du fruit avait une part de responsabilité importante. Traiter de la beauté et de la qualité relationnelle entre les usagers est une dimension essentielle du design. Comment redonner du prix à un produit mis au rebut simplement parce qu’il est moche ? Léa a cherché à changer nos représentations de ces fruits, en les habillant et en créant de la valeur autour de ceux-ci. Les pommes moches sont enveloppées dans du tissu ou du papier de soie suivant la technique japonaise des furoshiki ou recouvertes de dentelle en sucre. Les fruits moches est un projet d’une grande sensibilité et montre comment le design peut répondre à des enjeux d’innovation responsable. Des tests ont été réalisés tant sur le plan technique que sur les aspects commerciaux ; Les fruits moches pourraient donc trouver des débouchés. »

Benoît Millet, Directeur Nouvelles pratiques alimentaires Design Lab

Designer(s)

Léa Rousse

Après un cycle bachelor en design produit, Léa s’est orienté vers le programme de cycle master Nouvelles pratiques alimentaires. Son stage de fin d’études chez Team Créatif Paris, une des plus grandes agences en packaging et branding, lui a permis de mieux appréhender le volume et le packaging. Elle apprécie particulièrement le design de TJ Girard qui a su créer un concept alliant
design produit, design culinaire, design alimentaire et évènementiel. Un mix dynamique des univers qui l’intéressent !

À lire également