DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal Cotonou
English
Print
Share
Back to search

Eyegon

#competition #digital culture #interaction design

// Thomas Lautrédou, Sullyvan Lecomte, Charles Perinet & Théo Richard

Discover the video of the project EYEGON

La Valkyrie team decided to explore visual exercises for analyzing and treating proprioception disorders caused by squints.

Seeking inspiration from existing exercises, undergraduate students in interaction design reviewed the doctor/patient relationship by creating an application in which the orthoptist, equipped with a Vive controller, launches projectiles at the patient who is immersed in a make-believe world. The patient has to catch the projectiles using another controller. A tablet application compiles statistics which can be used by the doctor for the patient follow-up.
To help make the consultation more fun, La Valkyrie team developed an immersive universe based on the Vikings. The projectiles are little flying dragons which are shot from a cannon in an arena. The patient has to defend him/herself with a racket by anticipating the trajectories of the projectiles.
After producing rough sketches of the whole décor, the team members then went on to build models of it. At the same time, they developed the main interactions on Unity. They then put the whole thing together and calibrated it. Throughout the creative process, user tests were carried out to enhance the experience.
A jury made up of members from HTC, Dassault Systèmes, Unity and Laval Virtual divided up the projects between them.
This competition gave the students the opportunity to experiment with virtual reality using the latest equipment, but also allowed them to learn from the other participants and organizers.

 

Related articles

DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal Cotonou
Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Eyegon

#compétition #culture numérique #cycle bachelor

// Thomas Lautrédou, Sullyvan Lecomte, Charles Perinet & Théo Richard

Découvrez la vidéo du projet EYEGON

L’équipe La Valkyrie a choisi d’explorer les exercices visuels pour analyser et traiter les troubles de proprioception liés au strabisme.

En s’inspirant des exercices existants, les étudiants de cycle bachelor en interactivité ont repensé la relation médecin/patient en créant une application dans laquelle l’orthoptiste, muni d’un contrôleur Vive, lance des projectiles au patient immergé dans un univers ludique. Ce dernier doit rattraper les projectiles à l’aide d’un autre contrôleur. Une application tablette permet la récolte de statistiques utilisées par le médecin pour établir un suivi.

Dans l’objectif de rendre la consultation ludique, l’équipe La Valkyrie a développé un univers immersif sur le thème des Vikings. Les projectiles, des petits dragons volants, sont tirés depuis un canon dans une arène. Le patient va, quant à lui, devoir se défendre à l’aide d’une raquette en anticipant les trajectoires.

Après être passés par une phase de croquis, les membres de l’équipe ont modélisé l’ensemble du décor. En parallèle, ils ont mis au point les interactions principales sur Unity. Par la suite, ils ont réuni puis calibré l’ensemble. Tout au long du processus de création, des tests utilisateurs ont été effectués pour affiner l’expérience.

Un jury composé de membres d’HTC, Dassault Systèmes, Unity et Laval Virtual ont départagé les projets.

Cette compétition a donné aux étudiants l’opportunité d’expérimenter la réalité virtuelle avec du matériel de pointe mais aussi d’apprendre des autres participants et organisateurs.

Compétition temps limité Laval Virtual 2016.

À lire également