DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal
English
Print
Share
Back to search

HOPe: the resilient park

#le studio montreal #exhibition #postgraduate studies

// Baptiste Gironnet

HOPe gives Montrealers the opportunity to enjoy the park all year round.

In the summer, the park mound is an open-air theater

In winter, the mound turns into a sliding area.

During summer and winter, the community bar strengthens social ties

In hibernation for 6 months of the year, Montreal’s public space loses its attractiveness and functionality. The snow, extreme cold and wind accentuate the phenomenon of social isolation. Summer parks are deserted. In light of these observations, Baptiste designed a resilient green space, adapted to the summer heat and winter frosts.

As a result, Montrealers can enjoy urban parks year-round. A mound offers a natural place to enjoy snow sports in the winter and an open-air theater in the summer. A community bar reinforces social cohesion, offering sports activities, meetings and workshops throughout the year. A concept that can be used in any northern city, HOPe brings a spark of hope to long cold winters.

"Baptiste designed Hope, a new kind of park. It is a resilient design that makes full use of the snow with outdoor winter activities. It is located in one of the busiest parks in the heart of Montreal: Lafontaine Park. During his research and analysis phase, Baptiste found that despite the northern identity of the Quebec metropolis, Montrealers did not particularly appreciate snow. Often seen as something to be endured, each winter they dread the return of the implacable white mantle . While parks are a must-see for a successful summer, they tend to be forgotten about or even actively avoided during the winter. In this environment, Baptiste found the ideal setting to create a space that could be adapted to the 4 seasons. The project is articulated around a mound. This architectural element brings together several functions with different uses depending on the season. He imagined an inviting space with well thought out and complementary uses that respect the adjacent road layouts."

Julie Le Ster - Le Studio Montréal Course Leader

This project is selected as part of Design L’Expo 2020 and will be exhibited at La Cale 2 Créateurs.

 

Designer(s)

2020
Junior designer in Interior Design, Kiva Design Architecture, Montreal, Canada

2019 - 2020
Design and entrepreneurship MDes, Le Studio Montréal, L’École de design Nantes Atlantique, Montreal, Canada

2020
Internship, Eyful, Montreal, Canada

2020 ,
Internship, FZ engineering, Montreal, Canada

2019
Internship, Centech, Montreal, Canada

2015-2018
Interior Design BDes, L’École de design Nantes Atlantique, France

Motto: " My passion for design is made stronger by the rigor and pleasure of designing on a daily basis."

gironnet.baptiste@gmail.com
linkedin.com/in/baptistegironnet

Related articles

DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal Cotonou
Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

HOPe : le parc résilient

#cycle master #exposition #le studio montreal

// Baptiste Gironnet

HOPe offre la possibilité aux Montréalais de profiter du parc toute l’année

L’été, la butte du parc est un théâtre de verdure

En hiver, la butte se transforme en zone de glisse

Le bar communautaire renforce les liens sociaux, été comme hiver

En hibernation durant 6 mois de l’année, l’espace public montréalais perd de son attractivité et de sa fonctionnalité. La neige, le froid et le vent accentuent le phénomène d’isolement social. Les parcs estivaux sont désertés. Au vu de ces éléments, Baptiste a conçu un espace vert résilient, adapté à la chaleur estivale et aux frimas hivernaux.

Ainsi, les montréalais profitent des parcs urbains toute l’année. Une butte y offre un lieu de glisse naturel l’hiver et un théâtre de verdure, l’été. Un bar communautaire renforce la cohésion sociale, associé à des activités sportives, des rencontres et ateliers tout au long de l’année. Adaptable à toutes les villes nordiques, HOPe réchauffe l’espoir.

« Baptiste a conçu “Hope”, un parc d’un genre nouveau. C’est un aménagement résilient qui valorise la neige grâce aux activités hivernales de plein air. Il est situé dans l’un des parcs les plus fréquentés du cœur de Montréal : le parc Lafontaine. Lors de sa phase de recherche et d’analyse, Baptiste a constaté que malgré l’identité nordique de la métropole québécoise, les Montréalais n’appréciaient pas particulièrement la neige. Synonyme de contrainte, ils redoutent, chaque hiver, le retour de l’implacable manteau blanc. Si les parcs sont pourtant les incontournables d’un été réussi, ils sont donc oubliés, voire délaissés durant l’hiver. Dans cet environnement, Baptiste a trouvé un terrain propice pour créer un espace adaptable aux 4 saisons. C’est autour d’une butte que s’articule le projet. Cet élément architectural réunit plusieurs fonctions dont l’usage diffère en fonction de la saison. Il a imaginé un espace chaleureux aux usages cohérents et complémentaires, respectueux des axes de circulation adjacents. »

Julie Le Ster, Responsable pédagogique Le Studio Montréal

Ce projet, exposé à La Cale 2 Créateurs du 15 septembre au 3 octobre 2021, est sélectionné dans le cadre de Design L’Expo 2020.

À voir aussi :

Designer(s)

2020
Designer junior en Architecture intérieure, Kiva Design Architecture, Montréal, Canada

2019 - 2020
MDes Design et entrepreneuriat, Le Studio Montréal, L’École de design Nantes Atlantique, Montréal, Canada

2020
Stage, Eyful, Montréal, Canada

2020
Stage, FZ engineering, Montréal, Canada

2019
Stage, Centech, Montréal, Canada

2015 - 2018
BDes Architecture intérieure, L’École de design Nantes Atlantique, France

Motto : « Ma passion pour le design s’enrichit de la rigueur et du plaisir de concevoir quotidiennement. »

gironnet.baptiste@gmail.com
linkedin.com/in/baptistegironnet

À lire également