English
Print
Share
Back to search

Habitat PopUp

#events #exhibition #mutations of the built environment

// Géraldine Kerboëthau

Urban densification means our habitat has to adapt to changing lifestyles. The timber-framed PopUp Habitat reconsiders the uses and functions of housing and offers users a modular living space. Each module is reversible and customizable – from the walls to the furniture – for maximum optimisation of the existing buildings in which it is integrated.

“Interested in the optimisation of the existing built environment, and the preservation and interior refurbishment of historical architecture, Géraldine decided to take a closer look at Haussmanian style […]. Haussmanian characteristics, primarily based on over-dimensioning and the use of public areas for moving around the building, represent a restrictive framework but, above all, a great source of inspiration. […] In an age where housing is seen as a service and no longer just as private property, Géraldine has designed a pop-up system: an easy-to-install interior architecture which can be used in individual rooms. […] The principle plays with different heights and light by providing split-level interiors, with connecting walkways and a flexible and open structure. The main strength of this project is its understanding of how conceptual creativity is always accompanied by practical creativity, closely linked to use and place. It’s a way of breaking away from the principle of class gradations initially proposed by Baron Haussmann who saw aesthetics as a parallel to the social standing of the occupants.”


Christine Vignaud, course leader Sustainable Cities

Designer(s)

Géraldine began her training with a diploma in Interior Design and Environmental Design at LISAA. She then joined the International Class at L’École de design on the Global Design course before pursuing the Mutations of the Built Environment master’s program. Her internships at MYGG Design in Milan then at Volcan Design in Paris confirmed her career choice as a junior interior designer. Géraldine is particularly keen on the work of architect Sou Fujimoto for his user-oriented approach and flexibility at the heart of the architectural process.
“Imagining tomorrow’s architecture makes us reconsider our lives and our societies. And nature plays a major role in this thought process.”

Related articles

DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal Cotonou
Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Habitat PopUp

#cycle master #événements #exposition

// Géraldine Kerboëthau

La densification urbaine nécessite d’avoir un habitat en concordance avec l’évolution des modes de vie. L’Habitat PopUp en ossature bois repense les usages et les fonctions du logement et offre un espace modulable aux usagers. Chaque module est réversible et personnalisable - des parois au mobilier - pour une optimisation maximum du bâti existant dans lequel il s’insère.

« Dans un contexte d’optimisation du cadre bâti existant, de préservation et de réhabilitation intérieure des architectures du patrimoine, Géraldine a choisi de s’intéresser au style haussmannien […]. Les caractéristiques haussmanniennes, essentiellement basées sur le surdimensionnement et l’aménagement d’espaces de circulation, constituent un préalable contraignant mais avant tout inspirant. […]À l’heure où le logement se perçoit comme un service et non plus uniquement comme une propriété privée, Géraldine a conçu un système pop-up : une architecture intérieure spontanée qui se déploie dans les pièces uniques. […] Le principe joue avec les hauteurs et la lumière en proposant des demi-niveaux intérieurs, une déambulation circulatoire, une implantation flexible et ouverte. Ce projet est surtout intéressant pour comprendre comment la créativité conceptuelle s’est toujours accompagnée d’une créativité pratique, strictement liée à l’usage et au lieu. Une façon de rompre avec les principes de gradations initialement proposés par le Baron Haussmann qui voyait l’esthétique comme un parallèle au niveau social des occupants. »


Christine Vignaud, responsable pédagogique Ville durable

Designer(s)

Géraldine a débuté sa formation par un diplôme d’Architecte d’intérieur et designer d’environnement à LISAA. Elle a ensuite rejoint L’École de design avec la Classe internationale option Design Global avant de poursuivre en programme de cycle master Mutations du cadre bâti. Ses stages effectués chez MYGG Design à Milan puis chez Volcan Design à Paris confirment son positionnement comme architecte d’intérieur junior. Géraldine apprécie tout particulièrement le travail de l’architecte Sou Fujimoto : mise en avant de l’usager, flexibilité au cœur du processus architectural. « Penser l’architecture du futur amène à reconsidérer nos vies, nos sociétés. Et la nature tient un rôle majeur dans cette réflexion. »

À lire également