English
Print
Share
Back to search

What to eat?

#design labs #care #events

// Yujie Cui

What to eat? is composed of 6 categories of cards

The game helps finding new ideas for healthy and balanced meals

This time of fun and dialogue is also a nice opportunity to be with your family and friends

The project in video

Presented in the form of a card game, What to Eat? is a lever for encouraging family communication. After dinner, the family members get together to play the game. The combination of 131 types of cooking ingredients and six different tasks, in six categories of cards, enable them to prepare delicious, healthy and balanced dishes. The next day, they work together to prepare the meal respecting the tasks assigned to each person during the game.

Yujie Cui focused on the isolation of elderly people in the specific context of China. In the ecosystem under consideration, public stakeholders don’t play a significant role in tackling isolation. However, intergenerational cohabitation within families, which is extremely common in traditional living arrangements, represents a source of rich and promising opportunities. Yet Yujie’s survey demonstrates that this cohabitation generates very few genuine interactions between its inhabitants. Of the different daily moments studied for each of the generations, mealtimes were identified as the most promising, prolonging the feeling of belonging to a social circle. Developed entirely with its users, What to Eat? is a game that structures the time before and after meals. Simple and carefully adapted, the game encourages each participant to talk and express themselves on a daily basis, about food groups, cooking methods and the tasks related to food preparation and clearing up. Yujie completed many field surveys in China and in France, and carried out monitoring with a global overview of the various cultural and political contexts. With What to Eat? she uses western innovation methods in a fair and virtuous way, by generating the support of complex ecosystems specific to China.

Simon Boussard
Care Design Lab Course Leader

 

Designer(s)

After obtaining a degree in industrial design and scenography at the Faculty of Art and Design of Tsinghua University in China, Yujie joined L’École de design to follow the Health & Social Innovation MDes program and a double degree at l’IAE in Nantes. During her studies, she has had the chance to work on designing connected objects that help keep frail people in their own homes. Furthermore, she devoted her thesis to loneliness in elderly people in China. She completed her internship as a global designer at the Crealab Design agency in Paris. For Yujie, design is a response to the relationship between human life and its environment.

cuiyujie0525@gmail.com

linkedin.com/in/yujie-cui/

Related articles

Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

What to eat?

#care #cycle master #design labs

// Yujie Cui

What to eat? se compose de 6 catégories de cartes

Le jeu permet de trouver des idées de plats sains et équilibrés

Ce temps de jeu et de concertation est aussi une bonne occasion de se retrouver en famille ou entre amis

Le projet What to eat? en vidéo :

Présenté sous forme d’un jeu de cartes, What to Eat? est un levier pour favoriser la communication familiale. Après le dîner, les membres de la famille se retrouvent pour un temps de jeu. La combinaison de 131 types d’ingrédients alimentaires et 6 tâches différentes, dans 6 catégories de cartes, leur permet de préparer des plats sains, délicieux et équilibrés. Le jour suivant, ils coopèrent pour préparer le repas selon les tâches assignées dans le jeu.

Yujie Cui s’est intéressée à l’isolement des personnes âgées dans le contexte spécifique chinois. Dans l’écosystème considéré, les acteurs publics ont peu d’importance face à l’isolement. En revanche, la cohabitation familiale intergénérationnelle, extrêmement forte dans les modes d’habitation traditionnels, représente des opportunités riches et porteuses. Pourtant, l’enquête de Yujie démontre que cette cohabitation ne génère que peu d’interactions réelles entre ses habitants. Parmi les différents moments quotidiens étudiés pour chacune des générations, le repas est identifié comme le plus porteur, prolongeant le sentiment d’appartenance à un cercle social. Entièrement développé avec ses usagers, What to Eat? est un jeu organisant l’amont et l’aval du repas. Simple et adapté, son déroulé amène chacun à s’exprimer et à échanger oralement lors d’un temps quotidien rythmé, sur les familles d’aliments, les modes de cuisson et les tâches liées à la préparation et au rangement. Yujie a effectué de nombreuses enquêtes de terrain en Chine et en France, et a mené une démarche de veille avec une prise de hauteur sur les différents contextes culturels et politiques. Avec What to Eat?, elle propose ainsi un usage juste et vertueux des méthodes occidentales d’innovation, en générant l’adhésion des écosystèmes complexes et spécifiques chinois.”

Simon Boussard
Responsable pédagogique Care

Designer(s)

Après l’obtention d’une Licence en design industriel et scénographie à la faculté d’art et de design de l’université de Tsinghua en Chine, Yujie a rejoint L’École de design pour suivre le programme MDes Innovation sociale & santé et un double diplôme à l’IAE de Nantes. Au cours de ces formations, elle a pu oeuvrer à la conception d’objets connecté pour le maintien des personnes fragiles à domicile. Par ailleurs elle a consacré son mémoire  de fin d’études à la solitude chez les personnes âgées en Chine. Elle a effectué son stage en tant que designer global au sein de l’agence Crealab Design à Paris. Pour Yujie, le design est une réponse à la relation entre la vie humaine et son environnement.

cuiyujie0525@gmail.com

linkedin.com/in/yujie-cui/

À lire également