English
Print
Share
Back to search

Wanderer

#china studio #china #events

// François Salomon

The headphones allow to isolate from the city rumour

Sounds are softened in real time

The apllied frequencies reduce stress

Wanderer project’s video presentation

Wanderer offers a new way of travelling around the city which is more relaxing and completely safe for the user. Wanderer is a self-contained headset which transforms the user’s soundscape in real time into more relaxing sounds. All the auditory information is conserved.
Three different effects are then applied to each track in order to transmit information about the environment in stereo to keep a spatial dimension.

Shanghai is historically a cultural crossroads where people from all over the world cross paths. Life is hectic and the economy is changing all the time. Leisure activities are for profit, inhabitants spend their time running around the city and personal moments are precious. […] It’s not always easy living in a city of over thirty thousand inhabitants. François focused on the spaces where we escape time for a moment to breathe: parks and public gardens. He questioned the everyday life of the inhabitants of Shanghai, to combine responsiveness, efficiency and personal balance. François designed a headset to alleviate and replace the sounds of daily life, […]and brighten up the user’s environment, reducing stress without cutting out the alert signals. As a spatial designer, François thought about the environment and the remodel with a tool incorporating augmented reality using sound. Headsets are a very common accessory in Shanghai, to cope with the city’s frenzied pace of life and cut yourself off from the world from time to time. François came up with a clever variant to improve the user’s sensory environment without adding extra clutter. He took a step back from his research question and came up with an innovative and contemporary solution.

Eric Mazodier
China Studio Course Leader

Designer(s)

François did the Interior Design BDes. After an internship at Creative Capital in Shanghai where he worked on a comprehensive project for a children’s play area, he joined the Transcultural Design MDes program at the China Studio to satisfy his craving for adventure. Fascinated by the wealth of Asian culture, he completed his training in India with an internship in an NGO devoted to Indian education, Happy Horizons Trust. His mission involved the global design of an “alternative school” for a village in the state of Bihar, to be built in the course of 2019. He plans to continue developing his skills as a designer by working on a variety of projects around the world.

francoissalomon@laposte.net

linkedin.com/in/francois-salomon-design

 

Related articles

Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Wanderer

#china studio #chine #cycle master

// François Salomon

Le casque permet de s’isoler de bruit de la ville

Les sons sont atténués en temps réel

Les fréquences appliquées permettent une réduction du stress

Vidéo de présentation du projet Wanderer

Wanderer propose une nouvelle expérience de déplacement dans la ville, plus relaxante et en toute sécurité pour l’usager. Wanderer est un casque audio autonome qui transforme le paysage sonore de l’usager en temps réel avec des sons plus relaxants. Toutes les informations sonores sont conservées. Trois effets différents sont ensuite appliqués à chaque piste, pour transmettre des informations sur son environnement diffusées en stéréo pour conserver une dimension spatiale.

Shanghai est historiquement un carrefour culturel où le monde entier se rencontre. La vie est trépidante et l’économie est en mutation permanente. Les loisirs sont à but lucratif, les habitants courent à travers la ville et les moments personnels sont précieux. […] Il n’est pas toujours évident d’exister dans une ville de plus de trente millions d’habitants. François s’est intéressé aux espaces où l’on s’échappe le temps d’un moment pour respirer, parcs et jardins publics. Il s’est questionné sur le quotidien des habitants de Shanghai, pour allier réactivité, efficacité et équilibre personnel. François a réalisé un casque audio pour atténuer et remplacer les sons du quotidien, […] égayer l’environnement de l’utilisateur en atténuant le stress sans supprimer les signaux d’alerte. Designer d’espace, François a réfléchi à l’environnement et le remodèle avec un outil intégrant une réalité augmentée par le son. Le casque est un accessoire très fréquent à Shanghai, pour faire face à la frénésie de la ville, et s’isoler du monde de temps en temps. François a su le détourner pour améliorer l’environnement sensoriel de l’utilisateur sans l’encombrer davantage. Il a pris du recul sur sa problématique pour y répondre d’une manière innovante et contemporaine.”

Eric Mazodier
Responsable pédagogique China Studio

Designer(s)

François a suivi le BDes Architecture intérieure. Après un stage chez Creative Capital à Shanghai où il a travaillé sur un projet complet d’aire de jeu pour enfants, il a rejoint le programme MDes Design & interculturalité au China Studio pour étancher sa soif d’aventures. Fasciné par la richesse de la culture asiatique, il a terminé son parcours en Inde avec un stage au sein d’une ONG dévouée à l’éducation indienne, Happy Horizons Trust. Sa mission consistait au design global d’une « école alternative » pour un village de l’état du Bihar dont la construction de l’école sera lancée au cours de l’année 2019. Il envisage de continuer de développer ses compétences de designer par des projets variés autour du monde.

francoissalomon@laposte.net

linkedin.com/in/francois-salomon-design

À lire également