English
Print
Share
Back to search

Sunster

#du dessiin #digital design #DIU Disrupt Campus

// Nicolas Dussouil

Sunster helps raise awareness about too much sun exposure

UVA & UVB sensors come either as watches, pendants or badges

Users can check the daily data on the app

Sunster project’s presentation in video

The portable connected object Sunster helps children adopt responsible behavior in the sun, alerts them if they need to change their behavior and tracks their accumulated sun exposure. It indicates the dose of UVA+UVB received thanks to a UV sensor. The necessary intake in solar energy is calculated using an algorithm which takes into account the child’s phenotype (skin color, hair color, eye color, age), the UV index recorded in real time by the sensor and previous sun exposure in order to constantly readjust the child’s sunlight requirements.

Sunster is Nicolas Dussouil’s final degree project, carried out as part of his D.U. DESSiiN in partnership with Jules Marécaille, student engineer at Polytech Nantes. Sunster is part of the family of connected objects dedicated to well-being and risk prevention. It is aimed at both children and their parents, who are still not fully aware of the danger of exposure to UV rays. Often wrongly associated with recreational sun exposure, the level of UV can be very high even in cloudy weather. Sunster is a portable connected object which fulfils prevention and education priorities by instilling good habits in the face of this invisible danger. Sunster is based on a technological innovation capable of assessing the exposure level depending on the skin type via a specific mathematical model. In terms of formal writing, the object complies with accessibility requirements but also those of acceptability. Using an iterative process involving many children and parents, the object proposed by Nicolas and Jules and its mobile app are perfectly complementary and really fun to use.

Arnaud Le Roi
Digital culture Course Leader

 

 

Designer(s)

After a BDes in Graphic Design, Nicolas completed the Tangible UX Design MDes program as well as two double degrees, the D.U. DESSiiN and the D.I.U. Disrupt Campus linked to disruptive innovation. He did his final internship at IBM Studios Montpellier which included missions on workshops on design thinking and optimizing know-how through immersive experiences. For Nicolas, taking into account the constraints of a project, a market or even a reality makes it a pleasure to create the innovations of tomorrow’s world. He joined Expertime, specialists in Microsoft Cloud, as a UX/UI Designer and is focusing on the development of innovative projects and the company’s internal transformation.

ncls.dussouil@gmail.com

www.nicolasdussouil.com

linkedin.com/in/nicolasdussouil/

Related articles

Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Sunster

#culture numérique #cycle master #digital design

// Nicolas Dussouil

Parents et enfants sont peu sensibilisés au risque d’une exposition trop longue au soleil

La capteur calculant la dose d’UVA+UVB se présente sous forme de badge, pendentif ou montre bracelet

L’application permet de consulter les données de la journée

Vidéo de présentation du projet Sunster

L’objet connecté nomade Sunster permet à l’enfant d’adopter un comportement solaire raisonnable, de l’alerter lorsqu’il faut en changer et d’assurer le suivi des expositions solaires cumulatives. Il indique la dose UVA+UVB reçue grâce à un capteur UV. L’apport en énergie solaire nécessaire est calculé avec un algorithme qui prend en compte le phénotype (couleur de la peau, des cheveux, des yeux, l’âge) de l’enfant, l’indice UV enregistré en temps réel par le capteur et les expositions solaires précédentes reçues pour réajuster en permanence les besoins solaires.

Sunster est le projet de fin d’études de Nicolas Dussouil, réalisé dans le cadre du D.U. DESSiiN, en binôme avec Jules Marécaille, élève ingénieur à Polytech Nantes. Sunster s’inscrit dans la lignée des objets connectés dédiés au bien-être et à la prévention des risques. Il vise à la fois les enfants et leurs parents, encore trop peu sensibilisés au danger que représente l’exposition aux Ultra- Violets. Souvent associé à tort à une exposition solaire récréative, le niveau d’UV peut être très élevé par temps nuageux. Sunster est un objet nomade connecté qui répond à des impératifs de prévention et d’éducation en inculquant les bons réflexes face à ce danger invisible. Sunster repose sur une innovation technologique qui permet, via un modèle mathématique spécifique, d’évaluer le taux d’exposition en rapport avec le type de peau. En terme d’écriture formelle, l’objet répond à des exigences d’accessibilité mais également d’acceptabilité. Produit d’une démarche itérative impliquant de nombreux enfants et parents, l’objet proposé par Nicolas et Jules et son application mobile sont parfaitement complémentaires et très ludiques.

Arnaud Le Roi
Responsable pédagogique Culture numérique

Designer(s)

Après un BDes en design graphique, Nicolas a suivi le programme MDes Tangible UX Design ainsi que deux doubles diplômes, le D.U. DESSiiN et le D.I.U. Disrupt Campus lié à l’innovation disruptive. Il a réalisé son stage de fin d’études chez IBM Studios Montpellier avec des missions autour d’ateliers de design thinking et des méthodes de valorisation du savoir-faire via des expériences immersives. Pour Nicolas, tenir compte des contraintes d’un projet,d’un marché ou même d’une réalité sont des forces pour prendre plaisir à créer les innovations de demain. Il a rejoint Expertime, spécialiste du Cloud Microsoft, en tant qu’UX/UI Designer et se concentre sur le développement de projets innovants et la transformation interne de l’entreprise.

ncls.dussouil@gmail.com

www.nicolasdussouil.com

linkedin.com/in/nicolasdussouil/

À lire également