English
Print
Share
Back to search

Sonotown

#design labs #events #exhibition

// Lucille Avice

With this urban object, passers-by can rediscover their daily surrounding sounds

Composed with cavities, Sonotown isolates the urban sounds by frequency groups in order to understand them better

The app stores the sounds recorded through the cavities

Anaïs Jacquard shares her educational vision on the Sonotown project

Sonotown understand a sound environment. With this decomposed listening module, citizens learn how to listen again and how to record acoustic heritage, but they also create data to help the agglomeration study noise pollution and its stress factors. It thus plays a role in resolving a health problem while raising awareness of the wealth of this acoustic space and its place within this heritage.

“Lucille’s approach is guided by a strong commitment to improving the quality of life of urban dwellers. With noise being defined as the main source of discomfort by users, Lucille has come up with a project which puts sound at the service of new urban experiences, but above all it actively involves the user in their sound environment to make daily life more personalized and pleasant. Lucille uses pedagogy to deploy a technique of “re-learning” sounds. An experience which is both entertaining, poetic and useful – three values which drive her design approach. Lucille has done valuable research on perception, urban environments and raising awareness about the impact of sound on the health of city dwellers. With a user-centered approach, Lucille has managed to open up the question of sound which focused overly on the level of decibels in cities, to help people see sound as a tool to modulate itineraries in urban spaces. It is no longer a noise to be silenced, it is also a malleable material.”

Anaïs Jacquard
Sustainable Cities Design Lab Course Leader

 

Designer(s)

After a BDes in interior design, Lucille then joined the Mutations of the Built Environment MDes program. With an insatiable curiosity for discovering design through different cultures, she did a 5-month internship at dSign Vartti Kivi & Co. in Helsinki, Finland, as an interior designer and her final internship in Malta at Daaa Haus, a global design agency. As well as learning a lot about interior architecture and becoming more open-minded, this professional experience taught her to position herself as a designer and to explore Maltese culture. She continues to work for this agency and is currently developing a personal project as a freelance Designer.

lucille.avice@gmail.com

linkedin.com/in/lucille-avice-91973611a

Related articles

Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Sonotown

#cycle master #design labs #événements

// Lucille Avice

Avec cet objet urbain, le promeneur peut se réapproprier les sons qui l’entourent quotidiennement

Composé de cavités, Sonotown décompose les ambiances urbaines par groupe de fréquences pour mieux les comprendre

Une appli répertorie les sons enregistrés via les cavités

Anaïs Jacquard donne sa vision pédagogique sur le projet Sonotown

Sonotown met en valeur les sons positifs de la ville et forme l’oreille à la différenciation et compréhension d’une ambiance sonore. Avec ce module d’écoute décomposée, le citoyen réapprend à écouter et à enregistrer le patrimoine sonore mais crée aussi de la donnée pour permettre à l’agglomération d’étudier les nuisances sonores et ses facteurs de stress. Il participe ainsi à la résolution d’une problématique de santé tout en prenant conscience de la richesse de cet espace sonore et de sa place au sein de ce patrimoine.

La démarche de Lucille est guidée par un engagement fort pour la qualité de vie des citadins. Le bruit étant défini comme la gêne principale par les usagers, Lucille propose au travers de son projet de mettre le son au service de nouvelles expériences urbaines, mais surtout de rendre l’usager acteur du son pour vivre son quotidien de manière plus personnalisée et agréable. C’est avec pédagogie que Lucille déploie un dispositif de ré-apprentissage du son. Une expérience à la fois ludique, poétique et utile, valeurs motrices de son approche du design. Lucille propose un travail sur la perception, les ambiances urbaines et la sensibilisation aux impacts du son sur la santé des habitants des villes. Avec une approche centrée sur l’usager, Lucille a pu ouvrir les enjeux du son, trop concentrés sur le niveau de décibels en ville, à une appréhension du son comme un outil de modulation du parcours dans l’espace urbain. Ce n’est désormais plus un bruit à combattre, c’est aussi une matière malléable.”

Anaïs Jacquard
Responsable pédagogique Ville durable

Designer(s)

Après un BDes en architecture intérieure, Lucille a intégré le programme MDes Mutations du cadre bâti. Toujours curieuse de découvrir le design à travers différentes cultures, elle a réalisé un stage de 5 mois chez dSign Vartti Kivi & Co. à Helsinki en Finlande comme architecte intérieure et son stage de fin d’études à Malte chez Daaa Haus, une agence de design global. Au-delà de l’architecture d’intérieur et de l’ouverture d’esprit apportée, cette expérience professionnelle lui a permis de se positionner en tant que designer et d’explorer la culture maltaise. Elle continue de travailler pour cette agence et développe aujourd’hui un projet personnel avec un statut de freelance.

lucille.avice@gmail.com

linkedin.com/in/lucille-avice-91973611a

À lire également