English
Print
Share
Back to search

Santé !

#apprenticeship #design innovation management #events

// Nolwenn Godet

Santé ! is a low-tech innovation

One of the modules protects the vines from the frost

The second module protects the vines from the drought

Marion Moussu, Design Management & Innovation MDes program Course Leader talks about Nolwenn Godet’s project

Santé ! is a range of products designed to help winemakers in their work in the vineyards with an ecological approach. Based on an inexpensive and low-tech innovation, the drought module captures humidity in the air through condensation then returns the water as close as possible to the roots of the vines. The frost module protects the vines using a heating element which recycles the heat produced from burning vine shoots. The ashes are then used as a natural fertilizer to feed the vines and optimize their growth.

[…] Nolwenn took as her starting point a poetic examination of the impact of rain on the lives of her contemporaries. As her research advanced, she rooted her project in the context of winemaking. Her choice was motivated by the desire to discover the region of Burgundy where her apprenticeship company is based. The implications of climate change in this sector are considerable and the work to set up a comprehensive network was a determining factor for the success of the project. As a designer, presenting innovative ideas to people for whom tradition is one of the fundamental values of their trade is no easy thing, yet thanks to a methodical and structured approach, Nolwenn managed to find the right people to support her. Santé ! consists on one hand of earthenware pots with netting over the top to condense the air humidity and constitute water reserves for irrigating the vines naturally in areas where industrial irrigation is not authorized. And on the other hand, heating elements with double walls also made of clay, to gradually return the heat from fires made from burning vine shoots on frosty nights. This range will be under study by engineering students in order to determine the optimal design. Then it will be prototyped and tested in vivo on a few rows of vines. Nolwenn has succeeded in convincing investors.

Marion Moussu
Design Management and Innovation MDes program in apprenticeship Course leader

 

 

Designer(s)

Nolwenn did a 2-year advanced diploma in Architectural and Environmental Planning in La Roche-sur-Yon before joining L’École de design to do an advanced diploma in Product Design on a work-study basis at CVL Luminaires (49). She then joined the International Class specializing in Brand Design, followed by the Design Management and Innovation MDes program with an apprenticeship at HMY, specialists in supermarket layouts located in Yonne. With her degree under her belt, Nolwenn headed for Thailand in search of a job in a global design agency. She continues to work for HMY as a freelance designer. She particularly values the work of Peter Behrens, a Designer who has successfully developed a global design approach within the AEG factory.

g.nolwenn@gmail.com

linkedin.com/in/nolwenn-godet-051b6969

Related articles

Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Santé !

#apprentissage #cycle master #événements

// Nolwenn Godet

Santé ! est une innovation low-tech

L’un des modules permet de protéger les vignes du gel

L’autre module apporte de l’eau aux vignes lors des sécheresses

Marion Moussu, responsable pédagogique du programme MDes Management du design et de l’innovation en apprentissage explique et parle du projet de Nolwenn Godet

Santé ! est une gamme de produits qui accompagnent le travail du viticulteur dans les vignes avec une démarche écologique. Basé sur une innovation frugale et low-tech, le module pour la sécheresse capte l’humidité de l’air par condensation pour restituer l’eau au plus près des racines des pieds de vigne. Le module pour le gel protège les vignes avec un principe de chaufferette qui restitue la chaleur des feux de sarments. Les cendres servent ensuite d’engrais naturel pour nourrir la vigne et favoriser sa croissance.

“[…] Nolwenn est partie d’une interrogation poétique sur l’impact de la pluie dans la vie de ses contemporains. Au fil de ses recherches, elle a ancré son projet dans le contexte de la viticulture. L’envie de découvrir la région de son entreprise d’apprentissage, la Bourgogne, a motivé ce choix. Les enjeux des changements climatiques dans ce secteur sont considérables et le travail de mise en place d’un réseau complet fut déterminant pour la conduite de ce projet. En tant que designer, se présenter avec des intentions d’innovation auprès de personnes pour qui la tradition fait partie des fondamentaux de leur métier n’est pas chose aisée, pourtant, grâce à un travail méthodique et structuré, Nolwenn a su trouver les interlocuteurs pour la soutenir. Santé ! est constitué d’une part de pots de terres surmontés d’un filet pour condenser l’humidité de l’air et constituer des réserves d’eau pour irriguer les pieds de vigne naturellement là où l’irrigation industrielle n’est pas autorisée. Et d’autre part, de chaufferettes constituées de doubles parois, en terre également, pour restituer longuement la chaleur de feux de sarments allumés lors des nuits de gel. Cette gamme fera l’objet d’études par des élèves ingénieurs pour déterminer son dimensionnement optimal. Puis elle sera prototypée et testée in vivo sur quelques rangs de vignes. Nolwenn a su en effet convaincre des investisseurs.”

Marion Moussu
Responsable pédagogique Management du design et de l’innovation en apprentissage

 

Designer(s)

Nolwenn a réalisé un BTS Agencement de l’Environnement Architectural à La Roche-sur-Yon avant de rejoindre L’École de design pour effectuer un BTS Design de produits en alternance chez CVL Luminaires (49). Elle a ensuite intégré la Classe internationale option Brand Design puis le MDes Management du design et de  l’innovation en apprentissage au sein de l’entreprise HMY dans l’Yonne, spécialiste de l’agencement pour les grandes surfaces. Son diplôme en poche, Nolwenn part en Thaïlande et recherche un poste dans une agence de design global. Elle continue de travailler pour HMY en freelance. Elle apprécie particulièrement le travail de Peter Behrens, un designer qui a pu développer une démarche de design global au sein de l’usine AEG.

g.nolwenn@gmail.com

linkedin.com/in/nolwenn-godet-051b6969

À lire également