English
Print
Share
Back to search

Pikkle

#brand design & food #design labs #events

// Mahrukh Khawar

Through this app, users can give food they don’t want to waste to other students

Pikkle enables communication between students living in university residences

Students can share recipes and tips on the forum

Aude Chaigneau-Messager, New Eating Habits Course Leader, presents the Pikkle project

Pikkle is a food sharing app for students living in university halls of residence. Based on the principal of voluntary commitment, it reduces food waste and encourages contact between students living far from home. Simple to use, Pikkle includes a forum and a function for creating communal cooking events. The partnership with supermarkets lets the user accumulate points which give them discounts in stores.

Food waste is a global issue with moral and environmental consequences for the planet and humanity. […] While food is wasted in many countries with a negative impact on the environment, other countries don’t even have access to such foods because of the high cost of production and distribution of food products. In response to these issues, Mahrukh succeeded in designing a system and a service for the circulation of food products which reduces food waste in homes while bringing together individuals within the student community and raising their awareness about a highly topical worldwide problem. […] Besides the biological need it satisfies, food has the ability to unite people, to encourage socializing and enable them to express their culture, convictions and preferences. Pikkle reflects and respects these cultural and social values. This multi-disciplinary project which combines anthropology, digital design and food design has the potential to transform people’s daily habits and help them reduce food waste.

Dolly Daou
Director of the New Eating Habits Design Lab

Aude Chaigneau
New Eating Habits Design Lab Course Leader

 

Designer(s)

After doing a diploma in communication design at the Indus Valley School of Art and Architecture in Karachi, Pakistan, Mahrukh worked as a graphic artist in Pakistan at Bates Chi & Partners and Adcom Leo Burnett, advertising and marketing agencies. Her work for food brands such as RedBull, Haleeb or Nurpur resulted in her joining L’École de design to complete the Brand Design & Food MDes program. A fan of community platforms, she developed an application for reducing food waste and carried out her internship at Drivy, a carsharing platform. Mahrukh continues to work for Drivy as a freelance designer in visual communication (print & web).

marar@hotmail.com

linkedin.com/in/mahrukh-khawar-06b2a23b

 

Related articles

Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Pikkle

#brand design & food #cycle master #design labs

// Mahrukh Khawar

L’application permet de proposer à d’autres des aliments qu’on ne veut pas jeter

Pikkle favorise la communication entre les étudiants vivant au sein d’un cité universitaire

Le forum permet aux étudiants d’échanger des conseils ou des recettes

Aude Chaigneau-Messager, responsable pédagogique Nouvelles pratiques alimentaires présente le projet Pikkle

Pikkle est une application de partage des aliments pour les étudiants logés en résidence universitaire. Fonctionnant sur le principe de l’engagement volontaire, elle réduit le gaspillage alimentaire et initie les échanges entre les étudiants loin de chez eux. Simple d’utilisation, Pikkle comprend un forum et une fonction de création d’événements pour cuisiner ensemble. Le partenariat avec des supermarchés garantit à l’utilisateur un cumul de points offrant des remises commerciales.

“Le gaspillage alimentaire est une problématique globale aux conséquences tant morales qu’environnementales pour la planète et l’humanité. […] Alors même que la nourriture est gaspillée dans de nombreux pays avec un impact négatif sur l’environnement, d’autres pays n’y ont pas accès en raison du coût élevé de la production et de la distribution des produits alimentaires. Face à ces problématiques, Mahrukh a su concevoir un système et un service pour la circulation des produits alimentaires qui réduit le gaspillage alimentaire dans les foyers tout en rapprochant les individus au sein de la communauté d’étudiants et en sensibilisant à une problématique globale actuelle.  […] Outre le besoin biologique qu’elle satisfait, la nourriture a la capacité de réunir des personnes, de favoriser leur socialisation et de leur permettre d’exprimer leur culture, leurs convictions et leurs préférences. Pikkle reflète et respecte ces valeurs culturelles et sociales. Ce projet pluridisciplinaire qui associe anthropologie, design digital et alimentaire a le potentiel pour transformer les habitudes quotidiennes des gens et les amener à réduire le gaspillage alimentaire.”

Dolly Daou
Directrice du Design Lab Nouvelles pratiques alimentaires

Aude Chaigneau
Responsable pédagogique Nouvelles pratiques alimentaires

Designer(s)

Après un diplôme de design de communication à l’Indus Valley School of Art and Architecture à Karachi au Pakistan, Mahrukh a travaillé en tant que graphiste au Pakistan au sein de Bates Chi & Partners et Adcom Leo Burnett, des agences de publicité et de marketing. Son travail pour des marques agroalimentaires telles que RedBull, Haleeb ou Nurpur l’a conduite à rejoindre L’École de design pour effectuer le programme MDes Brand Design & Food. Passionnée par les plateformes communautaires, elle a développé une application pour réduire le gaspillage alimentaire et a effectué son stage chez Drivy, une plateforme d’autopartage. Mahrukh continue de travailler pour Drivy comme freelance en communication visuelle print & web.

mahrukh_khawar@hotmail.com

linkedin.com/in/mahrukh-khawar-06b2a23b

À lire également