English
Print
Share
Back to search

Pazapa

#care #event #events

// Célia Ferrer

This game allows a fair and non-gendered use of space

Children can create their own game by their own rules

After creating the game in class, children can try it in life-size with those removable tiles

Simon Boussard shares with us his educational views on the Pazapa project

Pazapa is a game which aims to teach children about “respectful coexistence” in schools. It offers a scalable and customizable environment which lets each child appropriate the space around them fairly, first in the classroom and then in the playground. By acting at an early stage in the development of their personalities, the game helps change mentalities in the long-term. Each child creates and adopts social behaviors based on non-gender related constructs.

Backed up by in-depth reading and numerous surveys in the school environment, Célia’s analysis highlights a very promising research question. Indeed, at a time when international public opinion is turning against gender-based inequalities, Célia has found that school playgrounds traditionally provide sports areas and imitation games which play an indirect role in reinforcing patterns of exclusion. By inventing games that are culturally gender neutral, and by randomly distributing roles and responsibilities, Pazapa provides an effective alternative to these facilities. This obvious, open-minded and constructive project deals with the sensitive issue of the sexist use of urban spaces. Thanks to the ambitious use of inclusive design, this intrinsically violent and serious starting point has given rise to caring and non-stigmatizing proposals. By choosing to position her project in the childhood period, Célia takes up the challenge of a long-term vision in which, at a very early age, each of us is encouraged to question our influence on others and on communal spaces. For her final internship, Célia is now developing Pazapa at Erik Giudice Architects, who are testing it in the Hortense school group in Bordeaux.

Simon Boussard
Care Design Lab Course Leader

 

Designer(s)

After completing a BDes in product design, Célia continued her studies at L’École de design with the Health and Social Innovation MDes program, which gave her the opportunity to look more deeply into the issues of sexism and gender and to write her dissertation on “sexist violence in urban environments”. She worked on redesigning the playgrounds of the Hortense school group in Bordeaux during her final internship with Erik Giudice Architects in Paris. After her degree is finalized, Célia would like to use the skills acquired during her training to devote herself fully to combating gender stereotypes.

ferrrcelia@gmail.com

linkedin.com/in/célia-ferrer

 

Related articles

Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Pazapa

#care #cycle master #événements

// Célia Ferrer

Le jeu permet une occupation de l’espace équitable et non-genrée

Les enfants peuvent créer leur propre jeu en établissant les règles eux-mêmes

Imaginé en classe, les enfants peuvent ensuite expérimenter leur jeu sur un plateau grandeur nature à l’aide de tuiles amovibles

Simon Boussard donne sa vision de responsable pédagogique sur le projet Pazapa

Pazapa est un jeu qui a pour objectif l’apprentissage du « vivre ensemble » au sein de l’école. Il propose un environnement évolutif et personnalisable qui permet à chaque enfant de s’approprier l’espace de manière équitable, d’abord dans la salle de classe puis dans la cour de récréation. En agissant à un stade précoce de formation des personnalités, le jeu fait évoluer les mentalités sur le long terme. Chaque enfant crée et adopte des comportements sociaux basés sur des imaginaires non liés au genre.

Sur la base de nombreuses lectures et enquêtes en milieu scolaire, l’analyse de Célia met en évidence une problématique très prometteuse. En effet, alors que l’opinion publique mondiale se soulève contre les inégalités liées au genre, Célia constate que les cours d’école proposent traditionnellement espaces sportifs et jeux d’imitation qui participent indirectement à la préfiguration de comportements d’exclusion. Par l’invention de jeux non marqués culturellement, et par une répartition aléatoire des rôles et des responsabilités, Pazapa se positionne en alternative efficace à ces installations. Ce projet manifeste, ouvert et positif, traite de la problématique sensible de l’occupation sexiste de l’espace urbain. Grâce à des ambitions de design inclusif, ce point de départ imprégné de violence et de gravité a donné naissance à des propositions douces et non stigmatisantes. Choisissant de se positionner sur la période de l’enfance, Célia fait le pari d’une vision à long terme, où dès le plus jeune âge, chacun est amené à questionner son emprise sur l’autre et sur l’espace commun. Pour son stage de fin d’études, Célia porte aujourd’hui Pazapa chez Erik Giudice Architects, qui l’expérimente dans le groupe scolaire Hortense à Bordeaux.”

Pazapa a été sélectionné pour Design L’Expo 2018, à la Cale 2 Créateurs à Nantes, du 24 novembre 2018 au 23 janvier 2019 et sera exposé au Global Grad Show dans le cadre de la Dubaï Design Week 2019 du 11 au 16 novembre 2019.

Simon Boussard
Responsable pédagogique Care

 

Designer(s)

Après un BDes en design produit, Célia a poursuivi ses études à L’École de design avec le programme MDes Innovation sociale et santé, lui donnant l’opportunité d’approfondir les questions de sexisme et de genre et de réaliser un mémoire sur les « violences sexistes en milieu urbain ». Elle est intervenue sur l’aménagement des cours de récréation du Groupe Scolaire Hortense à Bordeaux pendant son stage de fin d’études chez Erik Giudice Architects à Paris. Après la validation de son diplôme, Célia souhaite mobiliser les compétences acquises durant sa formation pour s’engager pleinement dans la lutte contre les stéréotypes de genre.

ferrrcelia@gmail.com

linkedin.com/in/célia-ferrer

À lire également