English
Print
Share
Back to search

Mirage

#events #exhibition #innovation

// Théo Richard

Mirage is a keyboard made for virtual reality

Sensors are placed on each hand

Entering data in a more intuitive way

Arnaud Le Roi shares with us his educational views on Théo Richard’s project

Mirage provides a solution to the lack of keyboards tailored to virtual reality. Thanks to a keyboard guided by sensors placed on your hands and voice-activated input, the user can interact with a virtual environment to enter information more intuitively and comfortably in a professional context. Besides data collection, Mirage also improves interactions and ergonomics in prolonged use which can be useful in many virtual reality projects.

What Théo Richard, a double degree student at L’École de design and Arts et Métiers ParisTech (Laval), has done here is to define the future framework for our interactions in immersive data entry. Mirage is based on an analysis of the development of tools for data and order entry (writing, keyboard, voice recognition) then on the development and experimentation of numerous functional prototypes making it possible to interact in virtual reality. The user tests and questionnaires developed allowed him to assess handling constraints and to redefine needs. The Mirage concept introduces the basic notions of a new gestural grammar. The demonstrator revisits NUI (natural user interfaces) for “immersed mankind". Navigation is fluid, streamlined and assisted Théo’s project has had considerable media coverage, proof that the question of interaction in virtual environments is one of the key issues in the age of increased accessibility to immersive technologies.

Arnaud Le Roi
Digital culture Course Leader

Designer(s)

After a BDes in Interaction Design, Théo continued his studies with the Immersive UX Design MDes program while simultaneously completing the Master’s in Virtual Engineering and Innovation at Arts et Métiers ParisTech in Laval. He is a great admirer of Don Norman who is considered to be the father of user experience and who made him realize what is central to design. His thesis entitled “Immersion and user experience” enabled him to better define these notions and to measure the impact of one on the other. He did his final internship at FITCH, a retail agency in London where he had the opportunity to design experiences in augmented and virtual reality. He would like to begin his professional career in this domain.

theoricharddesign@gmail.com

theorichard.com

Related articles

Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Mirage

#cycle master #événements #exposition

// Théo Richard

Mirage est un clavier adapté à la réalité virtuelle

Des capteurs sont installés sur les mains

Mirage permet une saisie plus intuitive

Arnaud Le Roi livre sa vision pédagogique du projet Mirage de Théo Richard

Mirage répond au manque de claviers adaptés à la réalité virtuelle. Grâce à un clavier guidé par des capteurs placés sur les mains et à de la saisie vocale, l’utilisateur peut interagir avec un environnement virtuel pour saisir des informations de manière plus intuitive et confortable dans un contexte professionnel. Au-delà de la saisie, Mirage amène une amélioration des interactions et de l’ergonomie dans un usage prolongé utile pour de nombreux projets en réalité virtuelle.

“Théo Richard, étudiant en double diplôme à L’École de design et aux Arts et Métiers ParisTech (Laval) définit ici le futur cadre de nos interactions dans la saisie d’informations en immersion. Mirage repose sur une analyse de l’évolution des outils de saisie et de commande (écriture, clavier, reconnaissance vocale) puis dans le développement et l’expérimentation de nombreux prototypes fonctionnels permettant d’interagir en réalité virtuelle. Les tests utilisateurs et les questionnaires mis en place lui ont permis d’évaluer les contraintes liées à la manipulation et de redéfinir les besoins. Le concept Mirage introduit ici les bases d’une nouvelle grammaire gestuelle. Le démonstrateur revisite les modalités d’interaction naturelle (NUI) pour “ l’homme immergé ”. La navigation est fluide, simplifiée et assistée. Le projet de Théo a été relayé par de nombreux médias, preuve que la question de l’interaction en environnements virtuels est l’un des enjeux à l’ère de la démocratisation des technologies immersives.”

Arnaud Le Roi
Responsable pédagogique Culture numérique

Designer(s)

Issu d’un BDes en design d’interactivité, Théo a poursuivi simultanément ses études avec le programme MDes Immersive UX Design et le Master Ingénierie du virtuel et de l’innovation à Arts et Métiers ParisTech à Laval. Il est un grand admirateur de Don Norman, considéré comme le père de l’expérience utilisateur, qui lui a fait réaliser ce qu’est le coeur du design. Son mémoire de fin d’études intitulé « immersion et expérience utilisateur » lui a permis de mieux définir ces notions et de mesurer l’impact de l’une sur l’autre. Il a réalisé son stage de fin d’études chez FITCH à Londres, une agence de retail dans laquelle il a conçu des expériences en réalité augmentée et virtuelle. Il souhaite débuter sa vie professionnelle dans cette voie.

theoricharddesign@gmail.com

theorichard.com

À lire également