English
Print
Share
Back to search

Les églises botaniques de France

#apprenticeship #design innovation management #events

// Marguerite de Chatelperron

Find new usages for abandoned churches

To take a break away from the city rumour

A theme for each church with matching plants

Presentation video of Marguerite de Chatelperron’s project:

Les églises botaniques de France offers a solution to two distinct problems: the preservation of the architectural heritage of abandoned churches and the creation of free and public sheltered areas in parks. The idea is to develop a network of refurbished churches, each with a specific theme and corresponding plants. Inside the botanical churches, visitors can find a picnic area, a meditation area, a group area and a relaxation area.

For her starting point, Marguerite took a very dreamlike image of an abandoned church overtaken by nature. This inspiration led her to ask many questions as a spatial designer about built and abandoned heritage. Why is it that these buildings with undeniable architectural qualities are no longer able to meet the needs of city dwellers? What services could these places provide to give them back a role at the heart of city life? As a designer, what new uses can be found for these buildings? Based on a precise case study and following many meetings with residents, Marguerite was able to identify new needs: breathing, taking a break, having some peace and quiet in a bustling city with hectic days and tight schedules. This proposal of sheltered gardens, like an extension of botanical gardens, corresponds perfectly to the current needs of city-dwellers. Thanks to her network of stakeholders, she managed to come up with a persuasive proposal for reconverting this abandoned church.”

Marion Moussu
Design Management and Innovation in apprenticeship program Course Leader

Designer(s)

After doing an advanced diploma in spatial design at LISAA in Nantes, Marguerite took a sabbatical year to work in Paris then in Bangladesh before joining L’École de design in the 3rd year BDes International Class specializing in Global Design. She then went on to do the Design Management and innovation MDes program and did her apprenticeship at AIA, an engineering and architecture firm in Nantes. She learnt a lot about interprofessional collaboration and she will be able to develop this expertise in Shanghai where AIA have offered her a job. Drawn by the beauty of materials, Marguerite is inspired by Katty Schiebeck, a designer who works with noble raw materials respecting the rules of minimalism.

margueritedechatelperron@gmail.com

linkedin.com/in/marguerite-de-chatelperron-02a242114

Related articles

Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Les églises botaniques de France

#apprentissage #classe internationale #cycle master

// Marguerite de Chatelperron

Réinventer les usages des églises abandonnées

Faire une pause à l’abri du tumulte urbain

À chaque église une thématique avec des plantes correspondantes

Vidéo de présentation du projet de Marguerite de Chatelperron :

Les églises Botaniques de France propose une solution à deux problèmes distincts, la préservation du patrimoine architectural des églises abandonnées et la création d’espaces abrités dans les parcs publics et gratuits. L’idée est de développer un réseau d’églises réhabilitées, chacune ayant une thématique particulière avec des plantes correspondantes. À l’intérieur des églises botaniques, les promeneurs trouvent une zone de pique-nique, une zone de contemplation, une zone de groupe et une zone de repos.

Marguerite est partie d’une image très onirique d’église abandonnée où la nature a repris ses droits. Cette inspiration l’a conduite à se poser beaucoup de questions en tant que designer d’espace sur le patrimoine bâti et abandonné. Pourquoi ces bâtisses aux qualités architecturales certaines ne sont plus en mesure de répondre aux besoins des habitants des villes ? À quels besoins pourraient répondre ces lieux pour leur redonner une place au cœur de la vie de la cité ? En tant que designer, quels sont les nouveaux usages à trouver pour ces bâtiments ? À partir d’une étude de cas précise et suite à de nombreuses rencontres avec les riverains, Marguerite a pu identifier de nouveaux besoins : respirer, faire une pause, prendre un temps de calme et à l’abri dans une ville en mouvement et dans des journées au timing serré. Cette proposition de jardin abrité, comme une extension du jardin des plantes, correspond tout à fait aux besoins actuels des citadins. Grâce à son réseau d’acteurs, elle a pu aboutir à cette proposition convaincante de reconversion pour cette église abandonnée.”

Marion Moussu
Responsable pédagogique Management du design et de l’innovation en apprentissage

Designer(s)

Après un BTS en design d’espace à LISAA à Nantes, Marguerite a pris une année sabbatique pour travailler à Paris puis au Bangladesh avant d’intégrer L’École de design en 3e année BDes en Classe internationale option Global Design. Elle a ensuite poursuivi avec le programme de MDes Management du design et de l’innovation et a réalisé son apprentissage chez AIA, cabinet d’ingénierie et d’architecture à Nantes. Elle a pu apprendre sur la collaboration inter-métiers, ce qu’elle va pouvoir continuer à faire à Shanghai où AIA lui a proposé un poste. Portée par la beauté des matériaux, Marguerite s’inspire de Katty Schiebeck, une designer qui travaille avec des matériaux bruts et nobles en respectant les règles du minimalisme.

margueritedechatelperron@gmail.com

linkedin.com/in/marguerite-de-chatelperron-02a242114

À lire également