English
Print
Share
Back to search

Journey to the throne

#china studio #china #events

// Thibaud Gouno

This boardgame is based on Chinese mythology

Thibaud was able to use his graphic design skills whilst creating his project

Journey to the throne leads the players to use their critical mind

Eric Mazodier, China Studio Course Leader, shares his views on Thibaud Gouno’s project:

Journey to the Throne is a board game combining myths and challenges from modern Chinese society, aimed at over 16s and for 2 to 4 players. Its creation was based on research on myths and their role in contemporary Chinese society. The Chinese use myths as an inspiration in real life; a means of finding one’s place in society and setting oneself goals. Board games are a form of transposition of society and its actors, connected by strategic links, conflicts or alliances.

Many traditional Chinese texts are largely ignored by our western societies […]. They constitute however important narratives in Chinese education just like the fairy tales of Perrault or Grimm in our society. […] Today, the Chinese government is encouraging the population to reconnect with traditional culture. Thibaud did a lot of research into how myths are used in Chinese society throughout its history: an unprecedented subject in the China Studio and a complex one due to the sheer scale and quantity of the data to be analyzed. […] He created a board game in which the players inhabit the world of Chinese myths. The game helps develop participants’ critical sense and presents the various characters in Chinese mythology. As an interactive designer, Thibaud opted for a traditional board game interface using his skills to encourage conversation and create a truly interactive game. […] Thibaud investigated the Chinese educational system and its actors. Several research tools enabled him to collect relevant information about the relationship between the Chinese population and this mythology. He succeeded in adapting his language and tools and dealing with a complex project without limiting himself to his speciality.”

Eric Mazodier
China Studio Course leader

This project was selected as part of the International Design Biennale of Saint-Étienne

Designer(s)

Although Thibaud opted for a BDes in interaction design, his interest in graphic design developed from the very first year at l’École de design. He then continued his studies with the Transcultural Design MDes program at the China Studio where he experienced an anthropological design based on the understanding and analysis of Chinese culture. His perception of design was thus transformed – his aim was now to be enriched by new representations, to decipher the behavior of potential users and to find the right position for exploration. For him, a designer must get involved in different disciplines and stimulate his creativity through travel and cultural discoveries. Thibaud is a self-employed designer and artist.

thibaud.gouno@free.fr

Related articles

DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal
Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Journey to the throne

#china studio #chine #cycle master

// Thibaud Gouno

Le jeu de société est basé sur la mythologie chinoise

Lors de la création de ce projet, Thibaud a pu utiliser ses compétences en graphisme

Journey to the throne amène les joueurs à user de leur sens critique

Eric Mazodier, responsable pédagogique du China Studio, donne son regard sur le projet de Thibaud Gouno :

Journey to the Throne est un jeu de société alliant mythes et défis de la société chinoise actuelle, à partir de 16 ans pour 2 à 4 joueurs. Sa construction s’est basée sur un travail de recherche sur les mythes et leur place dans la société chinoise contemporaine. Les Chinois s’inspirent des mythes dans la vie réelle ; un levier pour trouver sa place dans la société et se donner des objectifs. Le jeu de société est une transposition de la société et de ses acteurs, connectés par des liens stratégiques, des conflits ou des alliances.

De nombreux textes traditionnels chinois restent méconnus de nos sociétés occidentales […]. Ce sont néanmoins des récits importants dans l’éducation chinoise au même titre que les contes de Perrault ou de Grimm dans notre société. […] Aujourd’hui, le gouvernement chinois encourage la population à renouer avec la culture traditionnelle. Thibaud s’est beaucoup documenté sur l’usage des mythes dans la société chinoise tout au long de son histoire : un sujet inédit au China Studio et complexe par son envergure et la quantité des données à analyser. […] Il a réalisé un jeu de société dont les joueurs évoluent dans l’univers des mythes chinois. Le jeu éduque les participants au sens critique et présente les différents personnages de la mythologie. Designer interactif, Thibaud s’est attaché à une interface traditionnelle du jeu de société en utilisant ses compétences pour encourager les échanges et créer un véritable jeu en interaction. […] Thibaud a investigué le système éducatif chinois et ses acteurs. Plusieurs outils de recherche lui ont permis de collecter des informations pertinentes sur les liens de la population chinoise avec cette mythologie. Il a su adapter son langage et ses outils et se confronter à un projet complexe sans se limiter à sa spécialité.”

Eric Mazodier
Responsable pédagogique China Studio

Ce projet a été sélectionné dans le cadre de la Biennale Internationale de Design de Saint-Étienne

Designer(s)

Si Thibaud a réalisé son BDes en design d’interactivité, son intérêt pour le graphisme s’est développé dès la première année à L’École de design. Il a ensuite poursuivi avec le programme MDes Design & interculturalité au China Studio où il a pu se frotter à un design anthropologique basé sur la compréhension et l’analyse de la culture chinoise. Sa perception du design s’est ainsi transformée pour se nourrir de nouvelles représentations, déchiffrer le comportement d’utilisateurs potentiels et trouver un positionnement correct d’exploration. Pour lui, un designer doit s’engager dans différentes disciplines et déployer sa créativité avec les voyages et les découvertes culturelles. Thibaud est designer indépendant et artiste plasticien.

thibaud.gouno@free.fr

À lire également