English
Print
Share
Back to search

Jardin d’hiver

#design labs #events #exhibition

// Léo Taiariol

© Jean-Charles Queffélec

Occupy the spaces again and give them sense

© Jean-Charles Queffélec

© Jean-Charles Queffélec

The project in video:

Jardin d’hiver considers the possibility of new programs in the architecture and urban planning of rue de Rivoli. It involves the extension of the inhabitants’ living spaces and the emergence of a new public space. The space formed by assembling the different “units” constitutes an open plan layout, where three types of furniture shape the space. The chair for generating downtime; the table for federating break times; and the flower pots for creating a scalable atmosphere.

With his forward-looking approach, Léo offers us a real debate, time to reflect on current mechanisms of heritage designation and their consequences on the urban planning of a city like Paris. With a project that is clearly of architectural importance, he shows how design can create a modern, livable and sustainable alternative to a heritage which until now froze the various potential futures of the sites. It is a theoretical project which offers keys to deciphering a situation seen as problematic. The new lines of thinking suggested by Léo are utterly relevant and sensitive to a carefully analyzed context. It provides perspective on fields of investigation in design, at the intersection of various disciplines in urban design. What Léo is trying to conserve and protect is not so much inert matter as the living and diverse actions and movements of an inhabited ecosystem. His poetic view gives meaning to the reclaimed places thanks to “soft" functions and skillfully simplified mobility. At times provocative, they are not in conflict with the initial values of a “patrimonialization” that were originally benevolent for the history of humanity.

Anaïs Jacquard
Sustainable Cities Design Lab Course Leader

Designer(s)

After completing his BDes in scenography, Léo spent a semester studying interior design at the Politecnico di Milano before taking the Urban Design MDes program followed by a double degree in business administration majoring in Design Management at l’IAE de Nantes. His internships at the Louvre assisting architects and scenographers on exhibitions and projects to redevelop some of the museum halls, as well as in the architecture agency Wilmotte et Associés in Paris, strengthened his interest in architecture and ambiguous spatial boundaries. He is currently starting a design job in the architects’ firm Junya Ishigami and Associates in Tokyo, Japan.

taiariol.leo@gmail.com

linkedin.com/in/leo-taiariol-b837a083

Related articles

DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal
Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Jardin d’hiver

#cycle master #design labs #design urbain

// Léo Taiariol

© Jean-Charles Queffélec

Réinvestir les lieux et donner du sens

© Jean-Charles Queffélec

© Jean-Charles Queffélec

Regardez la vidéo du projet Jardin d’hiver

Le Jardin d’hiver est l’hypothèse du surgissement de nouveaux usages dans l’espace public, présentant un autre modèle d’urbanisation de la rue de Rivoli. Il est comme le prolongement des pièces à vivre des habitants et l’émergence d’un nouvel espace commun, où l’architecture s’efface. La vie se prolonge, au-delà de la frontière architecturale pour constituer un nouvel ensemble, véritable rhizome citoyen, à la fois catalysant et diffusant.

Léo nous propose, au travers de sa démarche prospective, une réelle mise en débat, un temps de réflexion autour des mécanismes de patrimonialisation actuels et leurs conséquences sur la programmation urbaine d’une ville comme Paris. Avec un projet manifeste d’envergure architecturale, il montre comment le design peut créer une alternative vivante, vivable et durable d’un patrimoine qui jusque-là gelait les potentiels devenirs variés des lieux. C’est un travail théorique qui offre des clés de lecture d’une situation jugée problématique. Les pistes de réflexion que propose Léo sont tout à fait pertinentes et en prise avec un contexte finement analysé. Cela remet en perspective les champs d’investigation du design, à la croisée de différentes disciplines de la conception des villes. Ce que Léo vise à conserver et protéger n’est pas tant la matière inerte que les actions et mouvements vivants et pluriels d’un écosystème habité. Sa poésie donne du sens aux lieux réinvestis par des fonctions douces et des mobilités subtilement apaisées. Non sans être provocantes, elles ne s’opposent pas aux valeurs initiales d’une patrimonialisation originellement bienveillante pour l’histoire de l’humanité.”

Anaïs Jacquard
Responsable pédagogique Ville durable

Designer(s)

Léo a réalisé son BDes en scénographie, avant de suivre un semestre d’étude au Politecnico di Milano. Il effectue son MDes au sein du Design Lab Ville durable, complété par un double diplôme en administration des entreprises option design management à l’IAE de Nantes. Il mélange des références très diverses : anthropologie, architecture, design ou encore philosophie et développe une réflexion autour des liens entre design et usagers, notamment dans son projet de fin d’étude et ses différents stages au Louvre et chez Wilmotte & associés à Paris. Il commence à travailler en conception et design au sein du cabinet d’architectes Junya Ishigami and Associates à Tokyo.

taiariol.leo@gmail.com

linkedin.com/in/leo-taiariol-b837a083

À lire également