English
Print
Share
Back to search

Building workers’ uniform

#china studio #china #events

// Paul Gardette

Labels can help identifying the worker’s trade and qualification level

For greater clarity, each trade is specifically represented by a colour

The jacket can be transformed into a travel bag

Watch the project video

The work uniform designed on the basis of a traditional costume helps make labor more free-flowing and improves the security and organization of building sites in China thanks to an identification system in a see-through pocket for the ID card and hi-vis strips to indicate the worker’s level of qualification and company. Building Workers’ Uniform meets the daily needs of building workers: it can be transformed into a storage bag ready to go to another building site or for their annual leave.

Shanghai is a city that is continuously renewing itself, full of construction sites. The workers are equipped by the construction companies and often have the same equipment on several different sites. Far from their families, they have few possessions and never change out of their work clothes. Chinese companies […] work day and night with a huge number of workers. Their habits are specific to China: their perception of uniforms is very different from our own. The speed of construction work, the large number of workers and the multicultural nature of the teams who come from all over China requires a particular organization. Paul worked on designing work clothes for a better organization of teams with an ergonomic design that facilitates the worker’s daily life. As a graphic designer, Paul created strong visual codes while at the same time incorporating elements of fashion design and product design. He brought modernity to the aesthetics of the worker’s world. […] Paul went and talked to many workmen on building sites to collect user experiences. […] He produced several prototypes that were tested in the field, with direct feedback from the workmen: a truly human experience.

Eric Mazodier
China Studio Course leader 

Designer(s)

Paul did his BDes in graphic design, completed by an internship at Mazarine Digital in Paris. He then followed the China Studio Transcultural Design MDes program with internships in Shanghai at Neocha, a creative agency where he was responsible for creative projects, then at Wieden + Kennedy, an advertising agency, as artistic manager. His work is inspired by the exacting standards, rigorous aesthetics and versatility of director Romain Gavras but also by Michelangelo Greco, an Italian graphic designer who pays particular attention to the visual identity of his work.
He is currently employed as a Brand Designer in the agency where he completed his final internship in Shanghai.

pl.gardette@gmail.com

behance.net/PaulGardette/collections

Related articles

Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Building workers’ uniform

#china studio #chine #cycle master

// Paul Gardette

Les étiquettes permettent de repérer plus facilement le corps de métier ou encore le niveau de qualification de l’ouvrier

Pour plus de clarté, les couleurs de la veste correspondent à un corps de métier précis

La veste se transforme en sac de voyage

Regardez la vidéo du projet

L’uniforme de travail développé sur la base d’un costume traditionnel permet de fluidifier le travail et d’améliorer la sécurité et l’organisation des chantiers de construction en Chine avec un système d’identification dans une poche transparente pour la carte d’identité, des bandes Hi-Vi pour identifier niveau de qualification et entreprise du travailleur. Building Workers’Uniform répond au quotidien de l’ouvrier en bâtiment : il se transforme en sac de rangement pour aller sur un autre chantier ou pour son congé annuel.

Shanghai est une ville en perpétuel renouvellement parsemée de terrains en construction. Les ouvriers sont équipés par les entreprises de construction, avec souvent le même matériel sur plusieurs chantiers. Loin de leur famille, ils ont peu d’affaires et ne quittent pas leurs vêtements de travail. Les entreprises chinoises […] travaillent jour et nuit avec un grand nombre d’ouvriers. Leurs habitudes sont spécifiques à la Chine : leur perception de l’uniforme est très différente de la nôtre. La rapidité d’exécution des travaux, le nombre important de travailleurs et le multiculturalisme des équipes en provenance de toute la Chine nécessite une organisation particulière. Paul a travaillé au design d’un vêtement de travail pour une meilleure organisation des équipes avec une ergonomie qui facilite le quotidien de l’ouvrier. Designer graphique, Paul a créé des codes visuels forts tout en intégrant des notions de stylisme et de design produit. Il a apporté de la modernité à l’esthétique du monde ouvrier. […] Paul est allé à la rencontre de nombreux ouvrier sur les chantiers pour collecter les expériences des utilisateurs. […] Il a réalisé plusieurs prototypes testés sur le terrain, avec un retour direct des ouvriers : une véritable expérience humaine.

Eric Mazodier
Responsable pédagogique China Studio

Ce projet a été sélectionné dans le cadre de la Biennale Internationale de Design de Saint-Étienne et sera exposé au Global Grad Show dans le cadre de la Dubaï Design Week 2019 du 11 au 16 novembre 2019.

 

 

Designer(s)

Paul a réalisé son BDes en design graphique finalisé par un stage chez Mazarine Digital à Paris. Il a ensuite suivi le programme MDes Design & interculturalité au China Studio avec des stages à Shanghai chez Neocha, une agence créative où il était en charge de projets créatifs puis chez Wieden + Kennedy, une agence de publicité, en tant que responsable artistique Dans ses travaux, il s’inspire de la qualité de réalisation, de la rigueur esthétique et de la polyvalence du réalisateur Romain Gavras mais aussi de Michelangelo Greco, un designer graphique italien qui soigne particulièrement l’identité visuelle. Il est aujourd’hui en poste en tant que Brand Designer dans l’agence où il a réalisé son stage de fin d’études à Shanghai.

pl.gardette@gmail.com

behance.net/PaulGardette/collections

À lire également