English
Print
Share
Back to search

Datalogy 2

#digital culture #graphic design #graphic design

More than one worker out of ten receives the RSA (a form of in work welfare benefit) in Loire-Atlantique. The characters receiving RSA are dressed in orange to contrast with the blue outfits of the other characters. Project by Ackapol Lamuang and Anaëll

What is the situation for children in public care? The representation of a row of dolls in size order is rooted in the collective imaginary and is in line with the data. Project by Lisa Le Gourriérec and Charles Périnet

The Department of Loire-Atlantique invests in secondary schools to help them function more effectively and encourages pupils to be open to the world and citizenship. Project by Julie Colliou, Neha Hassanbay and Margaux Leroy

A year at the museum. Using tickets, the students recreated a histogram showing the number of admissions to museums in Loire-Atlantique and thus highlighted tourist numbers in these sites. Project by Hortense Bohu and Nolwen Le Ternue

Working session on the development of Datalogy 2

2nd edition of Datalogy

For this second edition of Datalogy, students from L’École de design teamed up with students from Audencia SciencesCom to take a closer look at and promote the initiatives of the Loire-Atlantique Department. Using publicly accessible data (open data), the students sharpen our civic and critical perception by representing it in image form. The aim here was not simply to produce graphic or cartographic representations from departmental data, but rather to create astonishing images which will aid understanding and help people remember a phenomenon.

Contextualizing and staging data

First and foremost, datalogy consists of contextualizing or, more precisely, “staging” data. You have to read, try to understand, interpret, cross-reference, re-examine and discuss in order to depict and “imagine” it. And then you realize that a picture is worth a thousand words, but that it is (really) not easy to create… For although the aim is to create an image that is easy to read and memorize, its apparent simplicity hides a complex design process: Which elements of reality should be used? Which situation, which metaphor, which emotion for which data? And how can we simply show something without explaining or condemning?
The 14 images included in Datalogy 2 reflect this complexity: in some cases, it is the nature of the figures which makes their “datalogical” transposition difficult, in other cases it is the challenge of translating sensitive human situations which don’t easily lend themselves to the exercise. But the common characteristic of all these images lies in a desire to make visible these figures, this otherwise hard-to-see data.
Thanks to all the students who took part in this project, the teaching staff, and to our contacts from the Loire-Atlantique Department who got involved in the working sessions (some of which were rather late!) Special thanks go to Matthias Rischewski, designer in charge of the Information Design master’s program in L’École de Design Nantes Atlantique’s READi Design Lab.

Far from being fixed or frozen, data is a raw material that can be constantly reutilized, transformed and reinvented

Open data – or the opening-up of public data – is a movement which follows the principles of an open, innovative and living democracy. Since 2012, the department of Loire-Atlantique has opened its data up to the general public in order to increase transparency and knowledge of its public action and to develop open innovation. But it is not enough simply to make raw data available. It requires directors and producers to give it meaning so that, more than just the esthetic aspect, this data tells a story, explains the world, turns reality into something that can be felt and seen. Connecting men and women, producing meaning, making the complex accessible – these things are the daily work of public officials.
It was therefore logical that the department of Loire-Atlantique should participate in this educational work producing datalogies with L’École de design Nantes Atlantique and Audencia Sciences Com, by making available its open data and its data specialists.

Related articles

Français
road_vous_etes_ici
Accueil
/
Projets
/
Datalogy 2
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Datalogy 2

#culture numérique #cycle master #design graphique

Plus d’un actif sur dix bénéficie du RSA en Loire-Atlantique. Le personnage bénéficiaire du RSA est habillé en orage contrastant avec les tenues bleues des autres personnages. Projet d’Ackapol Lamuang et Anaëlle Prieux

Quelle situation pour les enfants confiés ? La représentation des poupées en ligne, classées par taille est ancrée dans l’imaginaire collectif et est en accord avec les données. Projet de Lisa Le Gourriérec et Charles Périnet

Le Département Loire-Atlantique investit dans les collèges pour permettre à chacun de mieux fonctionner et encourage l’ouverture des collégiens sur le monde et la citoyenneté. Projet de Julie Colliou, Neha Hassanbay et Margaux Leroy

Une année au musée. Grâce à des tickets, les étudiants ont recréé un histogramme montrant le nombre d’entrées des musées de Loire-Atlantique et ont ainsi mis en avant la fréquentation touristique de ces lieux. Projet de Hortense Bohu et Nolwen Le Ternue

Session de travail sur l’élaboration de Datalogy 2

2e édition de Datalogy

Pour cette deuxième édition de datalogy, les étudiants de L’École de design ont fait équipe avec les étudiants d’Audencia SciencesCom pour porter un regard et pour donner à voir les actions du Département de Loire-Atlantique. À travers des données accessibles publiquement (open data) les étudiants aiguisent notre regard civique et critique en les représentant sous forme d’images. Il ne s’agissait pas ici de produire des représentations graphiques ou cartographiques à partir des données du Département, mais bien de créer des « images » étonnantes, qui faciliteront la compréhension et favoriseront la mémorisation d’un phénomène.

Contextualiser et scénographier des données

La datalogy consiste en effet avant tout à contextualiser, ou plus exactement à « scénographier » des données. On lit, on essaie de comprendre, on interprète, on croise, on recroise et on discute pour mettre en scène et « imaginer ». Et on apprend que... oui ! une image vaut milles mots, et que non... elle n’est (vraiment) pas facile à fabriquer... Car si l’objectif est de créer une image facile à lire et à mémoriser, son apparente simplicité masque un processus de conception complexe : Quels éléments du réel ? Quelle situation, quelle métaphore, quelle émotion pour quelles données ? Et puis... comment montrer sans démontrer, sans dénoncer ?
Les 14 images proposées dans Datalogy 2 reflètent cette complexité : dans certains cas, c’est la nature des chiffres qui ne facilitent pas leur transposition « datalogique », dans d’autres cas c’est la difficulté de traduire des situations humaines délicates qui se prêtent mal à l’exercice. Mais, le point commun à toutes ces images réside dans une volonté de donner à voir des chiffres, des données peu visibles.
Merci à tous les étudiants qui se sont investis dans ce projet, aux équipes pédagogiques, à nos interlocuteurs du Département de Loire-Atlantique qui se sont impliqués dans des séances de travail parfois... tardives ! Un remerciement tout particulier à Matthias Rischewski, designer responsable du programme de cycle master Information Design du READi Design Lab de L’École de design Nantes Atlantique.

Loin d’être figées, les données sont une matière première dont la réutilisation et la transformation sont sans cesse à réinventer

L’open data – ou ouverture des données publiques – est un mouvement qui s’inscrit dans les principes d’une démocratie ouverte, innovante, vivante. Depuis 2012, le Département de Loire-Atlantique ouvre ses données afin d’augmenter la transparence et la connaissance de son action publique et développer l’innovation ouverte. Mais la mise à disposition de données brutes ne suffit pas. Elle nécessite des metteurs en scène et des producteurs de sens afin, qu’au-delà de l’aspect esthétique, ces données racontent une histoire, expliquent le monde, rendent sensible et visible la réalité. Relier les femmes et les hommes, produire du sens, rendre accessible la complexité, c’est également le travail au quotidien des agents publics.
Il était donc logique que le Département de Loire-Atlantique participe à ce travail pédagogique de production de datalogies avec L’École de design Nantes Atlantique et Audencia Sciences Com, en mettant à disposition ses données ouvertes ainsi que ses spécialistes data.

À lire également