English
Print
Share
Back to search

Uto

#care #events #exhibition

// Batia Bertho

Uto

Making the disinfection of toys educational and fun for children hospitalised in protected areas

Children undergoing chemotherapy are extremely fragile. At certain stages of treatment, they must be placed in a protected area with stringent and restrictive hygiene measures. The disinfection of objects in contact with them is essential.

The disinfection of toys takes time, damages them, can be expensive and is not feasible in some cases. How can children hospitalised in protected areas feel less isolated by playing a bigger role in the toy disinfection process?

UTO is a disinfection unit in the form of a rocking hedgehog. Before entering the room, the parent or carer places the toy to be disinfected into UTO, before giving the device to the young patient. When the device is rocked from side to side, the dirty toy inside is subjected to UV rays. After five minutes, UTO will unlock itself and the child can take out his/her disinfected toy.

UTO produces light and movement which can distract and entertain children who are confined to their rooms. Disinfecting toys becomes a game and a time that can be shared.

This project is exhibited at Hangar 32 at “Design l’Expo”, from 28th November 2014 to 25th January 2015.

Related articles

DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal Cotonou
Français
Vous êtes ici
Accueil
/
Projets
/
Uto
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Uto

#care #événements #exposition

// Batia Bertho

Uto

Rendre la désinfection des jouets pédagogique et ludique pour les enfants hospitalisés en secteur protégé

Les enfants subissant une chimiothérapie sont extrêmement fragiles. À certaines étapes du traitement, ils doivent être placés en secteur protégé avec des mesures d’hygiène importantes et contraignantes. La désinfection des objets à leur contact est indispensable.

La désinfection des jouets prend du temps, les abîme, peut s’avérer coûteuse, et n’est pas réalisable pour certains d’entre eux. Comment, en participant davantage au processus de désinfection des jouets, l’enfant hospitalisé en secteur protégé peut-il sortir de son confinement ?

UTO est une unité de désinfection ayant la forme d’un hérisson culbuto. Avant d’entrer dans la chambre, le parent ou l’aide-soignant y place le jouet à désinfecter avant de le donner au petit patient. À l’intérieur, des UV sont envoyés sur le jouet sale par balancement de l’objet d’un côté à l’autre. Au bout de cinq minutes, UTO se déverrouille, l’enfant peut récupérer son jouet désinfecté.

UTO produit de la lumière et du mouvement, ce qui peut distraire et amuser l’enfant confiné dans sa chambre. La désinfection des jouets devient un jeu et un moment qu’il peut partager.

Ce projet est exposé au Hangar 32, à l’occasion de Design L’Expo, du 28 novembre 2014 au 25 janvier 2015.

À lire également