English
Print
Share
Back to search

Apicalm

#china #events #exhibition

// Sophie Lefebvre

Eco-designed to promote biodiversity, Apicalm uses the virtues of bees to help people suffering from joint pain through alternative and preventive medicine. When subjected to a very weak electric current, bees release their venom which, when collected and applied to the skin, provides effective relief with no need for medical staff. The instruction booklet de-dramatizes the procedure by offering a choice of treatments which are respectful of the patient’s lifestyle and movements.

“Preventive medicine is at the core of Chinese culture. Its attitude to the body and medical treatments retains the characteristics that make it so unique and rich, even though western medicine is very much present. Despite the distant and sometimes skewed perception that our countries may have of the situation in China, the Chinese are very concerned about the environment and its impact on their health. They certainly do not overlook these questions. Sophie positioned her project Apicalm in this diverse context. She creates a three-way contract between bees, alternative/preventive medicine and people suffering from joint pain, in which all parties benefit. Bee venom treatments already exist but at the cost of the insect’s life. The procedure is unacceptable and prohibitive: patients have to be stung by the insect which is held in a pair of tweezers. Sophie uses a procedure in which the bees are subjected to a very weak electric current, and thus release their venom which can then be collected.
Instead of injections, skin contact is enough to diffuse the venom: pand consequently there is no more need for nursing staff. Thanks to its intuitive use, the treatment can be administered by patients who take complete control of their joint pain. […] Sophie’s project is sufficiently complete for it to be placed on the market immediately and it will no doubt surprise the industry and users with its positioning and its simplicity. It is remarkable from an ethical, medical and use point of view and these qualities make it a relevant and compelling study for a final degree project which goes far beyond the scope of a school project.”

Mathieu Bernard, Course Leader - Transcultural Design China Studio

Designer(s)

Sophie Lefebvre

 

Understanding other cultures is a major asset for Sophie. After completing her bachelor’s degree in Graphic Design, she decided to pursue a master’s degree in Shanghai with the Transcultural Design China program. This experience, as well as the internships she carried out in Shanghai at Pointech, Uniplan and Wilddesign, brought her a new vision of design in the context of globalization. The course enabled her to perfect a design methodology focused on the human dimension and innovation.

Related articles

DESIGN FOR CREATIVE INNOVATION*

* Design pour une innovation créative

Nantes Shanghai Pune São Paulo Montréal
Français
Imprimer
Partager
Retourner à la recherche

Apicalm

#chine #cycle master #design & interculturalité

// Sophie Lefebvre

Éco-conçu pour favoriser la biodiversité, Apicalm met les abeilles au service des personnes souffrant de douleurs articulaires via la médecine douce et préventive. Soumises à un faible courant électrique, les abeilles évacuent leur venin qui, recueilli et appliqué sur la peau, soulage sans l’intervention d’un personnel médical. Le livret d’explications permet de dédramatiser l’acte en proposant des soins qui respectent les contraintes de vie et les mouvements du patient.

« La médecine préventive est au cœur de la culture chinoise. Son rapport au corps et aux traitements médicaux garde sa spécificité et sa richesse, même si la médecine occidentale est bien présente. Malgré le regard distant et parfois biaisé que nos pays peuvent porter sur la situation de la Chine, les Chinois sont très préoccupés par l’environnement et son impact sur leur santé. Ils ne ferment pas les yeux sur ces questions. Sophie a placé son projet Apicalm dans ce contexte pluriel. Elle crée un contrat tripartite entre les abeilles, la médecine douce / préventive et les personnes souffrant de douleurs articulaires, gagnant pour tous. Les traitements à base de venin d’abeilles existent mais au prix de la vie de l’insecte. Ils présentent un côté rédhibitoire dans leur pratique : les patients doivent se faire piquer par l’animal coincé dans une pince à épiler. Sophie s’appuie sur un procédé où les abeilles, soumises à un faible courant électrique, évacuent leur venin ainsi recueilli.
En lieu et place d’injections, le contact sur la peau est utilisé pour diffuser le venin : plus de besoin de personnel soignant. Grâce à son usage intuitif, le traitement est administré par le patient, maître à bord pour calmer ses douleurs articulaires. […] Le projet de Sophie est suffisamment abouti pour une mise sur le marché immédiate et surprendre l’industrie et les usagers par son positionnement et sa simplicité. Ses qualités éthiques, médicales et d’usage en font une étude pertinente et probante pour un projet de fin d’études qui est déjà au-delà du cadre de l’école. »

Mathieu Bernard, Responsable pédagogique Design & interculturalité China Studio

Designer(s)

Sophie Lefebvre

 

Comprendre d’autres cultures est pour Sophie un atout majeur. Après son cycle bachelor en design graphique, elle est partie suivre son cycle master à Shanghai avec le programme Design & interculturalité Chine. Cette expérience, ainsi que les stages qu’elle a réalisé à Shanghai chez Pointech, Uniplan et Wilddesign, lui ont apporté une nouvelle vision du design dans un contexte de globalisation. Le cursus qu’elle a suivi lui a permis de perfectionner une méthodologie de design centrée sur l’humain et l’innovation.

À lire également